Raspberry Pi and RetroPie distro plus LCD

Need some help with the software in your GBZ build? Post questions here!
Post Reply
lennymay
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:16 am

Raspberry Pi and RetroPie distro plus LCD

Post by lennymay » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:25 am

I downloaded RetroPie for my RaspberryPi 3 from this link and have been trying to get my 3.5" LCD to work. I downloaded the driver fromas described, but whenever I try and extract it with the "tar xzvf LCD_show_v6_1_3.tar.gz", the file for the Osoyoo LCD I have, around 50 lines are executed and then the Pi crashes. When I restart it, it goes into a kernel panic every time. I've reinstalled my OS multiple times. I cannot download the raspbian distro with the driver because I have been unable to install RetroPie on top of it and have been unable to display it on the LCD.

Please respond if you know how to solve this problem or what you recommend.

User avatar
dryja123
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Central NJ
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 361 times

Re: Raspberry Pi and RetroPie distro plus LCD

Post by dryja123 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:48 am

How are you stuffing a 3.5 LCD in a mintyPi? :roll:

(You posted this in the mintyPi software help section)

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 1896
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Fall River, MA
Has thanked: 972 times
Been thanked: 2543 times

Re: Raspberry Pi and RetroPie distro plus LCD

Post by Helder » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:56 pm

I'll move it.
My Sale Threads:
Blank and Audio Controller PCBs
All in One Pre-Orders
mintyPi PCB Kits


Chat with me and other members

All in One Support Thread


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 229 times
Been thanked: 442 times

Re: Raspberry Pi and RetroPie distro plus LCD

Post by VeteranGamer » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:16 am

lennymay wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:25 am
I downloaded RetroPie for my RaspberryPi 3 from this link and have been trying to get my 3.5" LCD to work. I downloaded the driver fromas described, but whenever I try and extract it with the "tar xzvf LCD_show_v6_1_3.tar.gz", the file for the Osoyoo LCD I have, around 50 lines are executed and then the Pi crashes. When I restart it, it goes into a kernel panic every time. I've reinstalled my OS multiple times. I cannot download the raspbian distro with the driver because I have been unable to install RetroPie on top of it and have been unable to display it on the LCD.

Please respond if you know how to solve this problem or what you recommend.

unless your LCD is the HDMI version, its not really compatible/suitable for Retropie....
if it is the HDMI version, then you dont nned to install drivers (as there for touch controls, which dont work in Retropie)


the one i think you have

Image

https://www.amazon.com/OSOYOO-480x320-D ... entries*=0


the one that would be suitable

you'll have better success with one of these......

Image

https://www.amazon.ca/OSOYOO-Display-Mo ... B01N447AEY



.

UbuntuBhoy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:32 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Raspberry Pi and RetroPie distro plus LCD

Post by UbuntuBhoy » Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Interesting.

I have a very similar looking touchscreen my daughter bought me that I was going to use. When you say it would be better with the other screen does that mean that his current one just wont' work, or won't perform well?

I have just spent the last hour or so trying to get mine working and although I can view a verbose startup and shutdown I don't get a desktop, yet it works when connected to my TV via USB.
I think it is a simple software solution as the desktop loads perfectly well in Raspbian.

EDIT - I managed to get my desktop showing using fbcp

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest