Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Want to show off your own project? Want to keep a build log of it? Post it here!
User avatar
Ely
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:44 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by Ely » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:48 am

Thanks, I'll try your tips for the next one :)

spacemishka
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 6:47 am
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by spacemishka » Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:30 pm

After testing it for a while on the weekend. I wouldnt recommend my "solution". I played few hours and the kitchen foil got loose. I glued it, but it didt work well....

So i hope my softbuttons will arrive soon :D

User avatar
Lphillimore
Posts: 984
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:03 pm
Location: Perth, WA
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 513 times

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by Lphillimore » Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:33 am

Hey great work on the build - glad I was able to help with what I've done so far. So real nice mods and ingenuity on this build, that's awesome!

Looks top drawer :D

Lafleur
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:27 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by Lafleur » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:41 pm

I se you did the battery monitor mod. How did you change the pin for the ‘a’ button? I’ve looked in the retrogame.cfg but don’t get any wiser since the pins don’t match up. Love your build 🙂

User avatar
Ely
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:44 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by Ely » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:36 pm

Thanks Lphillimore :)

Hey Lafleur, I was going to answer your PM but I think it's better to leave the solution here to everyone.
For this build I had to do 3 trace cuts on the pcb for A, R1 and UP.
"A" and "R1" because the ADS need it and "UP" because when you install the MintyPi battery monitor script,
pushing 'UP' button will switch on/off the battery icon with some lag if you are playing......
As I was unable to find where to change this key to toggle on/off icon in the script, I just made a trace cut and changed the mapping of "Up" button. :oops:
If somone know how to do it without trace cut you are welcome to post your solution :P
Be carefull when you do a trace cut, take your time and dont cut anything else.

Basically you just direct solder your buttons to the Pi, You can check on the wiki which GPIO are free to use here >
https://github.com/GameboyZero/GabozePo ... in-Mapping

I used 30AWG silicon wire to solder the 3 buttons, they won't take too much space in your shell
Here what i have done >
SpoilerShow
Image
You can trace cut "UP" button if your Pi is allready in place, you have enough space to cut under the Pi, just be carefull and take your time.
Check and recheck before cutting :)

After this I changed the mapping like this:
- connect to SSH with putty.

Code: Select all

sudo nano /boot/retrogame.cfg
And you can edit it, CTRL + X to exit > Y to save change > enter to leave.
- Or just edit your retrogame.cfg when you plug your SD card on your computer.

Code: Select all

LEFT            26  # Joypad left
RIGHT           13  # Joypad right
UP              16  # Joypad up
DOWN             6  # Joypad down
LEFTCTRL        14  # 'A' button
LEFTALT         27  # 'B' button
Z                4  # 'X' button
X               17  # 'Y' button
RIGHTSHIFT      22  # 'Select' button
ENTER           15  # 'Start' button
A                5  # Left shoulder button
S               21  # Right shoulder button
ESC             22 15  # Exit ROM; PiTFT Button 1
At the end, reboot your console, wait untill you are on the game systems selection screen, push start and remap again your buttons in emulation station using the "gonfig input" option

Good Luck with your build :)

Lafleur
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:27 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by Lafleur » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:00 pm

Thanks a lot. I’m so confused on all those PIN numbers and I actually don’t understand how you came up to those, but you are using the same pin for the ‘a’ button as I so I’m just changing it and hoping for the best 😂

User avatar
Ely
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:44 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by Ely » Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:21 am

Ok, I think I understand why you are confused.
Maybe because you didn't see that Physical Pin numbers and GPIO are not labeled the same way.

Check this picture
SpoilerShow
Image
Let's take for exemple the A button after you did the modification to use an ADS.
The physical pin on your Raspberry Pi is the number 29 and the corresponding GPIO is 5
So if you solder something on your Pin 29, you will have to configure Retropie (or any other software) to use GPIO 5
Just use the picture and it's easy to understand :)

User avatar
C.Egret
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:56 pm

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by C.Egret » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:03 pm

spacemishka wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:30 pm
After testing it for a while on the weekend. I wouldnt recommend my "solution". I played few hours and the kitchen foil got loose. I glued it, but it didt work well....

So i hope my softbuttons will arrive soon :D
You glued the aluminium foil to the membrane with cyanoacrylate glue or universal glue (a.k.a UHU)?

spacemishka
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 6:47 am
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by spacemishka » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:43 pm

UHU....

gbjack
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:47 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gaboze Pocaio, no silicon pads [Update]

Post by gbjack » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:50 am

Hi ely, first of all thanks for sharing your solution. I think the problem is the footprint of your pcb, which is the same as mine and I think that makes the contact harder. Recently the pads are made with an improved footprint (I think), which may solve the problem that you expose.

Image

I will test both footprints and we'll see how it goes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest