Burger King Gameboy build log

Want to show off your own project? Want to keep a build log of it? Post it here!
eggbowl

Burger King Gameboy build log

Post by eggbowl » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:20 pm

Hello all, I've been a lurker here on the forums for a few months now, but now I've got a project I want to show off. I've seen a few people making gbz's out of the burger king toy, but couldn't find anyone documenting their process or doing a build guide. Note that I'm a complete noob (this is only my second raspberry pi build) so this is probably gonna be a mess, but figure that you can learn from my mistakes. I'm planning on including ABXY and LR buttons, mono speaker, a 2 inch screen, and a headphone jack.
Introductions aside, I bought a Sunflora bkgb from ebay. I was surprised at how small it is.
SpoilerShow
There were no screws, so I had to cut the case to get it open. I cut the section under the hinged false back. I don't have a dremel tool (hoping to get one for xmas) so I used a craft knife.
SpoilerShow
Image ImageImage
There were plastic stalks holding the piece together extremely well. I tried pulling the halves apart, but ended up having to cut them. The good news is that I think I can use them as screw holds. There is a good amount of space in the shell when you include the space from the hinged back.
Two problems that I'm expecting are that the "speaker" grill is underneath one of the screw stalks, and I'm not sure what to do about the large hole where the fake d-pad was. I might try to patch it with some of the plastic off cuts, but I don't know if that will look very good.
I'm waiting on parts to arrive from Aliexpress now, so I probably won't be able to update this thread for a while.

VeteranGamer

Re: Burger King Gameboy build log

Post by VeteranGamer » Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:41 am

eggbowl wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:20 pm
I'm planning on including ABXY and LR buttons, mono speaker, a 2 inch screen, and a headphone jack.