Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post tips/tricks or get help with configuring RetroPie
User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:56 am

Hey folks,

I have my Pi Zero up and running based on Kites Circuit Sword Lite and have successfully installed Doom in the ports section of Retropie. Game launches fine and I can even run around the levels, but I can't shoot etc.

Does anyone know how I can tweak the controls for Doom to play nice with the GBZ? I've figured out what keyboard characters everything is mapped to and I know from memory that you can tweak the controls in Doom itself. The problem is that the menu text in doom is so very tiny that I can't even read it to figure out what to change. Is there another way to remap the controls? (or a way to increase the menu font size in Doom so I can see it?).

Thanks!

Andy

McGyver
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:06 am
Location: Tianjin / China
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by McGyver » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:10 am

First of all: I am interested in a solution as well!
Just for the view of the menue: maybe it helps to reboot the gameboy into HDMI only ( as available since the last update from KITE) inside of retropie and view the game settings on an external HDMI screen.

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:18 am

McGyver wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:10 am
First of all: I am interested in a solution as well!
Just for the view of the menue: maybe it helps to reboot the gameboy into HDMI only ( as available since the last update from KITE) inside of retropie and view the game settings on an external HDMI screen.
I'm using the circuit sword LITE - does that still support this? I guess I could plugin via the standard HDMI port on the Pi if I take the case apart. I would probably prefer to find an external config file though as it seems a little more scaleable and easy for everyone to reproduce.

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:21 am

Just for the record these are the keys that the buttons are mapped to:
SpoilerShow
Image
(apologies for the horrible markup image done on my phone!)

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:39 am

So I did some research. It seems you can edit the retroarch config file here:

Code: Select all

/opt/retropie/configs/ports/doom/retroarch.cfg
and I found an example specifically for doom:

Code: Select all

# Settings made here will only override settings in the global retroarch.cfg if placed above the #include line

input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/ports/doom/"

input_player1_start_btn = "3"
input_player1_select_btn = "0"
input_player1_up_btn = "4"
input_player1_down_btn = "6"
input_player1_left_btn = "20"
input_player1_right_btn = "21"
input_player1_up_axis = "-1"
input_player1_down_axis = "+1"
input_player1_left_axis = "-2"
input_player1_right_axis = "+2"
input_player1_a_btn = "13"
input_player1_b_btn = "14"
input_player1_x_btn = "9" # this is the button used for fire. it is set to "9" "r1" right trigger button. change it to "14" for "b" button (sony's X button)
input_player1_y_btn = "15"
input_player1_l_axis = "-0"
input_player1_r_axis = "+0"
input_player1_l_btn = "7"
input_player1_r_btn = "5"
input_player1_l2_btn = "10"
input_player1_r2_btn = "11"
input_player1_l3_btn = "1"
input_player1_r3_btn = "2"

#include "/opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg"
I just need to figure out what does what :shock:

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:08 am

Thanks - thats a good start!

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:20 am

Making progress - got this from all/retroarch.cfg
SpoilerShow
Image
SpoilerShow
Image
I guess all I need to do now is transfer this into the doom config and we should have something!

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:33 am

So I *think* this should be the correct config to go into

Code: Select all

/opt/retropie/configs/ports/doom/retroarch.cfg

Code: Select all

input_remapping_directory = "/opt/retropie/configs/ports/doom/"

input_player1_up = "up" 		#move forward
input_player1_down = "down"		#move back
input_player1_left = "left"		#look left
input_player1_right = right 	#look right
input_player1_a_btn = "x"		#use
input_player1_x_btn = "z"		#fire
input_player1_y_btn = "1"		#run NOT IN USE DUE TO BUTTON SHORTAGE
input_player1_l_axis = "num1"	#strafe left
input_player1_r_axis = "num3"	#strafe right
input_player1_l2_btn = "s"		#previous weapon
input_player1_r2_btn = "a"		#next weapon

#include "/opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg"
I can't test right now as I'm in the office and I can't connect directly to the Gameboy (and I don't quite have the time right now to manually type it all in). I'll try this out when I get home, but if anyone else wants to give it a go - feel free and let us know how you get on.

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:37 am

Please note - in the controls above, I've mapped strafing to L1/R1 and the weapon switching to the A/B buttons on the front (the game seems to expect the opposite but my way makes more sense to me)

User avatar
Hellweaver666
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:37 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Remapping Doom Controls for GBZ

Post by Hellweaver666 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:01 am

Hmmm. Fail. Seems ZDoom ignores the retroarch.cfg file

I did find a zdoom.ini that contains controls which looks promising though!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest