How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Various user-contributed guides for hardware-related things
virux
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:52 pm

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by virux » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:58 pm

I decided to use the GPIO instead of the Teensy.

1. Scrolling in Main screen work fine, but i can't select anything if i go into other menus.
2. Is fully compatible with the snes emulator but it won't work well with other, specially with the N64.
3. I can't use hotkeys in other emulators to exit.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
DirtyBullets
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: Lowestoft, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by DirtyBullets » Fri Oct 14, 2016 7:15 pm

don't forget i made this a while back

http://doom56.com/Projects/Arduino/Teen ... index.html

User avatar
DoggieWokkie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:41 am
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by DoggieWokkie » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:29 pm

Thank you for this, worked perfect for me.

Chisharpe
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:53 am

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by Chisharpe » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:18 am

Can this be done in command promt instead of ssh?

prerunnerseth
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 5:36 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by prerunnerseth » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:11 pm

Guide updated.

Added a little more detail.

also included information on enabling SSH as it is now disabled by default in Retropie V4.2

User avatar
Mike-Zulu
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by Mike-Zulu » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:10 am

Hi, very cool help!! Thank you

I made it step by step but I could not start a test with

sudo ./retrogame

it says command unkown. Do you know something I made wrong? Or do you have an idea what else I can try?

I had already a joystick and keyboard enabled in the emulation.

I tried this too:

https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-Retrogame
and
https://learn.adafruit.com/retro-gaming ... s-software

Best wishes

Mike

prerunnerseth
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 5:36 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by prerunnerseth » Tue May 02, 2017 8:05 am

Mike-Zulu wrote:
Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:10 am
Hi, very cool help!! Thank you

I made it step by step but I could not start a test with

sudo ./retrogame

it says command unkown. Do you know something I made wrong? Or do you have an idea what else I can try?

I had already a joystick and keyboard enabled in the emulation.

I tried this too:

https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-Retrogame
and
https://learn.adafruit.com/retro-gaming ... s-software

Best wishes

Mike
sounds like you might have the keys already mapped to a different combination.

vs1991
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 2:23 pm

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by vs1991 » Thu May 04, 2017 2:34 pm

Hello everyone I am currently building a GBZ and I already spent quite a bit of money on this build and I just found out that I should use a teensy for the button controls. I really don't want to spend any more money but I will if this is absolutely necessary. Therefore, my question is what are the exact downfalls of soldering directly to the GPIO pins on the pi0? Will doing this create any significant problems when playing games or effect the responsiveness of the buttons? Thanks for the help.

methuper
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:42 am

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by methuper » Tue May 09, 2017 9:00 am

I followed the guide exactly. I have input in my Retropie menu, but not in emulators. Any pointers?

User avatar
rodocop
Posts: 1639
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:14 pm
Location: Saskatchewan
Has thanked: 596 times
Been thanked: 582 times

Re: How to - Use the GPIO for Buttons instead of a Teensy

Post by rodocop » Thu May 11, 2017 11:56 am

methuper wrote:
Tue May 09, 2017 9:00 am
I followed the guide exactly. I have input in my Retropie menu, but not in emulators. Any pointers?
I had a similar issue, it worked at first. Then the next time I turned it on some buttons would work in the emulators, some would not. I just remapped the controls in emulation station, and then everything started working again. Not sure why...maybe try that?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest