V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

General mintyPi-related chat goes here. Share ideas, ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums, etc.
Post Reply
Caver01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 12:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Caver01 » Fri May 31, 2019 3:04 pm

Having completed my V3 MintyPi, I am really loving the on-screen function menu (the one with volume, WiFi, battery indicators etc.). However, I would like to know more about it. In one of the videos Wermy mentions this functionality was ported from a Gameboy FE project "Bloop's script"??? I am happing digging in with my own research, but since I am not familiar with this user or the FE project, where do I get started?

I am curious about the tiny icons:
battery indicator
Wifi indicator

I have also seen what looks like a tiny white dot with "j" inside superimposed on my screen at the top. What is that?

Then there is the function key functions. Are there more than meets the eye undocumented? Can we augment this functionality? For example, I added scripts to my RetroPie menu to enable+start and disable+stop samba sharing. That might be nice to do via function key. Or, here is a GREAT one: setup a function key combo to issue the "esc" key. This would be super useful (graceful exit) for non-libretro emus which are often faster than their retroarch counterparts--so important on slower hardware like the zero.

Anyway, I did some searching and did not find much detail, so I thought I would stimulate some discussion.

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2687
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Fall River, MA
Has thanked: 1380 times
Been thanked: 3039 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Helder » Fri May 31, 2019 8:44 pm

Search Github for OneForAll all the info is there and the J is indication of analog joystick which is not used in this version since the mintyPi doesn't have an analog stick.
My Sale Threads:

Retro PSU, 3.5A output!


Chat with me and other members


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

Caver01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 12:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Caver01 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 12:27 am

Ahh, joystick. I see I can invoke that with function+right. Might be something I can repurpose.

User avatar
dryja123
Posts: 1008
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Central NJ
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 527 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by dryja123 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:11 am

If you want to get rid of it connect your mintyPi to WiFi and select update mintyPi in the retropie menu. I brought this to Bluups attention and he fixed it.

Caver01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 12:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Caver01 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:05 pm

I will update, but I may check settings first. What I really want to do is add a function to send “ESC” so I can exit some of the faster emulators that are independent of retroarch.

I checked the git repo and I have to say I am impressed with the hardware/software marvel we have in our hands. Well done!

Caver01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 12:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Caver01 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 12:24 am

Well, I did a bit of digging around in the git repo and my own config files. It seems to be a little too daunting for me to add function key mapping on my own. Does anyone know if Bluup might be open to suggestions about this? It seems like there are many opportunities for leveraging the function button in combination with other buttons. I know several are taken, but having a config file for hotkeys like this makes a lot of sense. I mean, we have this great input capability but it only gets leveraged for save states, volume and networking. I would love to see a way to map Function+button where “button” can include the unused buttons. For example:

1. Function+START= “ESC”
2. Function+SELECT= “TAB”
3. Function+L and R =adjust display brightness if there are driver commands to do so
4. Function to enable/disable SMB (once installed)

Does anyone have other ideas?

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2687
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Fall River, MA
Has thanked: 1380 times
Been thanked: 3039 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Helder » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:15 am

I passed the message along to Bluup but you can also register an issue on the github so he can get it directly and respond there.
My Sale Threads:

Retro PSU, 3.5A output!


Chat with me and other members


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

Bluup
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:40 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 66 times
Contact:

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Bluup » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:29 am

If you could post this as an issue that'd be awesome. I have had some ideas regarding this but it requires a few major modifications, which I'm happy to do, but will need some testing afterwards. I'm trying to strike a balance between ease of use and advanced features like adding extra hotkey combos. It can definitely be done, just the best way of doing it.
Looking for info on how to get started with the Pocket FE? Check out http://www.bluuplabs.com

Caver01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 12:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: V3 Function Key + on-screen menu

Post by Caver01 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:20 pm

Posted this as an issue on git. I made a few suggestions for iterations going for function over form. Happy to test updates.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest