Bad Display Cables/ LCD Ribbon

Having trouble with your mintyPi build? Post your questions here!
sachz
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:32 pm

Re: Bad Display Cables/ LCD Ribbon

Post by sachz » Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:19 pm

Much better. Thanks Helder. :)
Attachments
IMG_20170728_202404.jpg
IMG_20170728_202404.jpg (435.77 KiB) Viewed 1951 times

Kevin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:23 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Display problem

Post by Kevin » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:27 pm

Building my MintyPi. Fun!

All seems to be going well. I have the SD card with the latest build. I soldered the Zero. Tested the pins. Boots to emulation station main screen.

Set up wifi (using the HDMI port for a display). Trimmed my ribbon cable. Added tape to the back of the cable.

The thing that isn't working is the display! No display. No backlight. I have Voltage on the display board is present (3.28v). Tested continuity on the 8 pin ribbon cable. Seems fine. Tried both displays I ordered. No joy.

Is there a script to switch to the display? Is there more instructions in the forums? What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Kevin

Kevin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:23 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Display problem

Post by Kevin » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:39 pm

Do I need to be running off of battery and boost? I'm still setting up via USB power.

User avatar
dryja123
Posts: 1076
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Central NJ
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 552 times

Re: Display problem

Post by dryja123 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:42 pm

You can power off of the usb port for testing. Can you attach pictures of how you have the ribbon in the board? Also, which way is the metal exposed on the ribbon cable? Pictures will definitely help us help you.

Kevin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:23 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Display problem

Post by Kevin » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:57 pm

Eureka !!!!

I took everything apart for photos and noticed my "thickening tape" could stand a little trimming. After a trim it works!

Thanks!

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2975
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Rogers, AR
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 3110 times

Re: Display problem

Post by Helder » Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:37 am

Glad you found the issue but this is the wrong section I'll move it.
Chat with me and other members On Discord

Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). If my Boards or PCB Kits are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them and there is demand for them. You can join the mailing list on my Website to be notified when they are available.


Helder's Game Tech Website

We will not support any cloned work so don't come to us with technical issues to resolve, go talk to the cloner for help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest