Alternatives to Helder's PCB (Confused Beginner)

Having trouble with your mintyPi build? Post your questions here!
eyeofugin

Alternatives to Helder's PCB (Confused Beginner)

Post by eyeofugin » Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:44 pm

I'm a beginner looking to get started building electronics, and I thought the mintyPi would be a really cool project to start on. However, with Helder's button/screen PCBs being sold out, I've been trying to research alternatives and been a little confused as to what I'm actually looking for.

The simplest solution I found was to just transplant some of the PiGRRL parts sold by Adafruit - namely, the PiGRRL 2.0 gamepad PCB and a 2.2" PiTFT HAT mini kit. Would these parts actually work, both in terms of function and size? Are there any important details I am missing?

rodocop

Re: Alternatives to Helder's PCB (Confused Beginner)

Post by rodocop » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:31 pm

May or may not fit. Hard to say. I will suggest to wait for helders v3 of the minty pi. It will likely be out in the near future. His sneak peaks have been very nice are there are a lot of cool new features.

Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer

Post by Helder » Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:06 am

I also have a few spare blank mintyPi v2 boards left. What does this mean by being blank if your wondering? It means it's everything but the battery monitor chip and LCD are included, the LCD you can get cheaply on ebay and battery monitor is not necessary to build one of these.
Chat with me and other members On Discord

Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). If my Boards or PCB Kits are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them and there is demand for them. You can join the mailing list on my Website to be notified when they are available.

Helder's Game Tech Website

We will not support any cloned work so don't come to us with technical issues to resolve, go talk to the cloner for help.

DeckardCain