First GBZ Build - Pocket Adventures Parts

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
Gob8484

First GBZ Build - Pocket Adventures Parts

Post by Gob8484 » Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:04 am

I am working on my first Gameboy Zero. I have done a couple Raspberry Pi emulation boxes (3b+ and 4) but this is my first project ever with soldering. I got my components from Pocket Adventures and I am trying to plan out everything. Unfortunately, while I really like the parts, the documentation isn't great and I'm kinda floundering on whether or not I'm thinking this through correctly.

I want to put 4 buttons on the back (attached picture on placement). I am also using the R1/C connection for the C button on the front and will set it up as a hotkey, so I am routing R1 to an unused GPIO pin 18. I believe this will work, if not I believe I could use pin 7 or 13.

If someone could tell me if I'm on the right track, I'd appreciate it. Sorry about the goofy colors on the pictures, it stood out on my phone, but my not look as good posted here.
Attachments
IMG_20200808_011343451~2.jpg
IMG_20200808_011343451~2.jpg (2.13 MiB) Viewed 3610 times
IMG_20200808_010322085~2.jpg
IMG_20200808_010322085~2.jpg (1.38 MiB) Viewed 3610 times
IMG_20200808_003048010~5.jpg
IMG_20200808_003048010~5.jpg (1.5 MiB) Viewed 3610 times
IMG_20200808_012445136.jpg
IMG_20200808_012445136.jpg (2.49 MiB) Viewed 3610 times

infinitLoop

Re: First GBZ Build - Pocket Adventures Parts

Post by infinitLoop » Sun Aug 09, 2020 10:25 am

Gob8484 wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:04 am
If someone could tell me if I'm on the right track, I'd appreciate it. Sorry about the goofy colors on the pictures, it stood out on my phone, but my not look as good posted here.