[Noob question] Which wires to use?

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
eludebear

[Noob question] Which wires to use?

Post by eludebear » Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:17 pm

This is my first time ever for doing something like this sorry for a dumb question. I did try checking the forums and it said to look at the wiki but I didn't see any wire selections under the hardware.

I purchased some "Jumper wires" from microcenter and was wonder if those are acceptable to use? I also read on here cutting up an Ethernet cable and using those wires will work.

Attached is a picture of both the ones i purchased on the left and the cut Ethernet cable on the right which seems thicker.
Attachments
20160725_200423.jpg
20160725_200423.jpg (3.21 MiB) Viewed 6172 times

Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer

Re: [Noob question] Which wires to use?

Post by Helder » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:20 am

You can use either one but you need cut the heads of the jumper wires. Be sure to tin the wires (google it) first before trying to solder them to anything.
Chat with me and other members On Discord

Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). If my Boards or PCB Kits are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them and there is demand for them. You can join the mailing list on my Website to be notified when they are available.

Helder's Game Tech Website

We will not support any cloned work so don't come to us with technical issues to resolve, go talk to the cloner for help.

ChunkeeMunkee

Post by ChunkeeMunkee » Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:14 am

eludebear wrote:This is my first time ever for doing something like this sorry for a dumb question
Thank you for asking this! I too am pretty much a n00b at all this, but can't wait to get started on my own GB0!