First GBZ build.. Joystick or not?

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
shaneago

First GBZ build.. Joystick or not?

Post by shaneago » Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:33 pm

Hey everyone, I'm new here and new to building GBZ's. I have limited skills/knowledge in electronics, however I have built various guitar effects pedals. I originally hoped to just purchase a completed GBZ, but after reading through the forums and gaining as much knowledge as I could, I decided to pre-order the circuit sword and start my first build.

The question is; In your opinion, should I include the joystick in my build, or leave it out? I've read a few people having trouble with the joystick calibration and configuration and I don't want to over complicate my build, but would love to have the joystick for use with N64 games.

Really appreciate your opinions and open to all advice.

Hellweaver666

Re: First GBZ build.. Joystick or not?

Post by Hellweaver666 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:58 am

That depends on your build. If you're using a Pi Zero, you aren't going to have much luck playing N64 games as it's not really powerful enough. If you're doing a Pi 3b/3b+ or Compute Module you can sort of get away with some more powerful games that may play better with a joystick.

Given that you've started with a platform you want to play, you should design your system around that. Make sure your GBZ has all the buttons and controls that you need for N64 and a powerful enough Pi inside to run the emulators well.

Phiro13

Post by Phiro13 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:54 am

I have a circuit sword built too and I’m glad that I have a Joystick. For some games it’s a pleasure to have one, especiallly with r-type style games, doesn’t matter which system.
I hadn‘t any problems with calibration, everything was super easy. It was my first built and I had absolutely no experience with Raspberry pie.

FlashyFrank