Not sure where this topic goes.

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
NewBuilderMaker
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:28 am
Has thanked: 7 times

Not sure where this topic goes.

Post by NewBuilderMaker » Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:44 pm

So the GBZ is built. All the parts are placed. Screws in. Screen displays. PCB.....isn't recognized. It's setup GPIO style, so I tried using "Retrogame" but it just ain't wanting to work. Followed all the scripts I've found to get it to work and nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Goose egg. Didn't really have time to look for any other stuff at the time (work issues), so now I'm at home and I'm hoping I can find an assist here. If this is in the wrong section, let me know and I'll paraphrase it in the appropriate section. If any of you neat peeps have ANY experience with these particular issues please feel free to drop a line (should point out that I'm not using a teensy). Have a fantastic day! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘

User avatar
rodocop
Posts: 1653
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:14 pm
Location: Saskatchewan
Has thanked: 597 times
Been thanked: 589 times

Re: Not sure where this topic goes.

Post by rodocop » Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:55 pm

Did you follow this guide? This is what I always follow. In 5/7 builds I have used no teensy with this guide.

http://sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=57

Make sure, whatever guide you are following you have the proper gpios soldered.

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 1729
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 898 times

Re: Not sure where this topic goes.

Post by VeteranGamer » Sun Nov 19, 2017 1:59 am

NewBuilderMaker wrote: โ†‘
Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:44 pm
So the GBZ is built. All the parts are placed. Screws in. Screen displays. PCB.....isn't recognized. It's setup GPIO style, so I tried using "Retrogame" but it just ain't wanting to work. Followed all the scripts I've found to get it to work and nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Goose egg. Didn't really have time to look for any other stuff at the time (work issues), so now I'm at home and I'm hoping I can find an assist here. If this is in the wrong section, let me know and I'll paraphrase it in the appropriate section. If any of you neat peeps have ANY experience with these particular issues please feel free to drop a line (should point out that I'm not using a teensy). Have a fantastic day! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘
firstly (again), this is a great lesson for all....

NEVER fix anything in until you know its working (especially as people are still hell bent on gluing everything in)
Until your certain that the...
Screen works
Controls work
Audio is working
Power is being supplied properly
Only then start putting everything together, as least then you'll have a better chance at trouble shooting....


are you sure Retrogame is installed properly....
if it is are you sure that your Retrogame Config matches your GPIO (where you've soldered your controls to)
if it does, check your solder connections (i'd be surprised if all are not working properly)

last resort start a fresh, with a new IMG and re-install Retrogame


.

NewBuilderMaker
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:28 am
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: Not sure where this topic goes.

Post by NewBuilderMaker » Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:22 pm

VeteranGamer wrote: โ†‘
Sun Nov 19, 2017 1:59 am
NewBuilderMaker wrote: โ†‘
Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:44 pm
So the GBZ is built. All the parts are placed. Screws in. Screen displays. PCB.....isn't recognized. It's setup GPIO style, so I tried using "Retrogame" but it just ain't wanting to work. Followed all the scripts I've found to get it to work and nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Goose egg. Didn't really have time to look for any other stuff at the time (work issues), so now I'm at home and I'm hoping I can find an assist here. If this is in the wrong section, let me know and I'll paraphrase it in the appropriate section. If any of you neat peeps have ANY experience with these particular issues please feel free to drop a line (should point out that I'm not using a teensy). Have a fantastic day! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘
firstly (again), this is a great lesson for all....

NEVER fix anything in until you know its working (especially as people are still hell bent on gluing everything in)
Until your certain that the...
Screen works
Controls work
Audio is working
Power is being supplied properly
Only then start putting everything together, as least then you'll have a better chance at trouble shooting....


are you sure Retrogame is installed properly....
if it is are you sure that your Retrogame Config matches your GPIO (where you've soldered your controls to)
if it does, check your solder connections (i'd be surprised if all are not working properly)

last resort start a fresh, with a new IMG and re-install Retrogame


.
To be fair, everything other than the controls was set up just fine. As far the retrogame config is concerned, the wiring was my goof up. Currently taking care of that now. What with this being my first time, I should have been paying a bit more attention to the way that everything matched up. It didn't really help me out that I was consulting a deluge of sometimes contradictory diagrams, but again: that's my mistake. Rectifying it all now. Thanks for your input though. I appreciate it regardless. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘

User avatar
Lphillimore
Posts: 989
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:03 pm
Location: Perth, WA
Has thanked: 791 times
Been thanked: 516 times

Re: Not sure where this topic goes.

Post by Lphillimore » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:56 am

Using a simple button PCB and the guide noted by Rodocop will see you right.

It's a tried and tested method for lots of us.

Once you've done this let us know how it went...... :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest