Newbie with questions about 1st build.

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
FlashyFrank

Newbie with questions about 1st build.

Post by FlashyFrank » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:34 pm

I am new to the Game Boy Zero world and I have purchased all the parts that I think I need to complete my first build. I am basing my build mostly off of Wermy's "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dV-W23lONI4" but I am unable to find the "all in one" board and plan on using this board "https://www.amazon.com/Button-Gameboy-D ... B01JKJCQVM" for my buttons. So I plan on connecting the buttons up to the GPIO's but I am unsure about a few things. Do I need to adjust the code at all or will the raspberry pi automatically pick up the button presses? I got the Adafruit Mono 2.5W Class D Audio Amplifier for the audio but I am not totally sure where and how to connect it. Also I was curious about having an HDMI output as an option and I haven't seen many builds featuring this. Is that because it is complicated or would it be as simple as connecting a cable? I apologize if I am asking questions that have already been answered on here. I looked around a bit but thought I would reach out to the forum members for help. I am really excited to get started on my first build! Thanks for any help.

rodocop

Re: Newbie with questions about 1st build.

Post by rodocop » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:04 pm

So. First of All, welcome! As for the questions, gpio controls are simple, you will need to install a script though. I always follow this guide:

https://sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=57

For audio here is a basic drawing I've made that allows mono audio using the adafruit amp. You will also need to add this to the config.txt
This diagram will need to be adjusted based on your headphone jack. Mine shows the original dmg jack taken from wermys guide.

dtoverlay=pwm,pin=18,func=2
SpoilerShow