Tinkerboy V2.0 PCB Wiring Questions

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Serif

Tinkerboy V2.0 PCB Wiring Questions

Post by Serif » Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:18 pm

I couldn't find much info related to the Tinkerboy V2.0 PCBs so I figured I'd ask some general questions!

So far my build is going great, but I'm running into some trouble in terms of two items "fighting" over the same soldering spots.

In this build, it looks like I should be wiring my PCB power supply to the SAME spot that I'm supposed to be wiring my power for my screen.

(The Red spot on the Pi Zero)

Should I be putting them both in the same spot, or is there another location I should be wiring my screen/PCB 5V and ground wires?

This is my first build and I am really loving this PCB, but unfortunately my electronics knowledge is limited. Any and all help appreciated!

tedmo

Re: Tinkerboy V2.0 PCB Wiring Questions

Post by tedmo » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:06 am

I, too, am new to building these and ran into the same issue. This PCB has a built in power strip, so you can actually run the LCD onto the ground and 5V shown in the diagram, but, for testing purposes, you'd want to run ground to PIN6 and 5V to PIN2. The video signal is going to the correct area, and it should be wired up to both (at least it was with the screen I had).

tinkerBOY

Post by tinkerBOY » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:07 am

Hi Serif! I have just posted a screen wiring guide at http://www.tinkerboy.xyz/screen-wiring- ... v2-1-v1-1/

Here:

Assuming the screen works on 5v power.
New! tinkerBOY PowerSwitch v1.0 with Safe Shutdown
Game Boy Zero Controllers available @ tinkerBOY.xyz * Support
tinkerBOY Controller v3.0 - built-in usb controller, usb audio, and usb hub
tinkerBOY Controller v2.0 - GPIO buttons and builtin PWM Audio and Amplifier
tinkerBOY Controller v1.1 - simple pcb button
* DPI Adapter - better display for GBZ
* keyboard converters - IBM XT/AT Soarer's Converter | ADB to USB Converter

Serif