Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
ibleedorange02
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Post by ibleedorange02 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:46 pm

So, this is my first GBZ build. Everything has gone really well so far. Powered it up via extrrnal power to Pi. Today, my powerboost came in, so I hooked it up, but it won’t power in via battery. I disconnected the on/off switch to see it that was the problem. Still didn’t work. I checked again to make sure it powered up via external power to Pi, and it did work. Here’s what’s happening... When I turn on the switch or join the power wires, a little blue LED flashes on the powerboost (marked on attached picture, and I get nothing. I can’t even get power again until I plug in the charger. Then, I get 5V on the orange power wire, circled in the picture. No idea what’s going on. Any guidance? Thanks in advance (excuse the messy work area and such. I’m planning to clean up the wiring as I get things set in the shell).
Attachments
68550DB2-10DA-40FF-9798-37ED509080F6.jpeg
68550DB2-10DA-40FF-9798-37ED509080F6.jpeg (860.43 KiB) Viewed 1033 times
025A8F74-4F63-4738-A50A-20A44582DCC0.jpeg
025A8F74-4F63-4738-A50A-20A44582DCC0.jpeg (894.92 KiB) Viewed 1033 times

ibleedorange02
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Post by ibleedorange02 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:14 pm

New detail. I find that the Pi will power on if I detach the screen (backup monitor from Amazon). I’m lost. Anyone know why that would happen or how to fix it?

User avatar
Ludaris
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:51 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Post by Ludaris » Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:15 am

I had the same problem. For me it helped that I remove the IC which is responsible for the 5V completely and to leave the bridge in it.
But I also had a little bit of a different board than you, but maybe that would be an approach that you could try?
You can read it in my post:
https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic ... 904#p62904

ibleedorange02
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Post by ibleedorange02 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:34 am

Ludaris wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:15 am
I had the same problem. For me it helped that I remove the IC which is responsible for the 5V completely and to leave the bridge in it.
But I also had a little bit of a different board than you, but maybe that would be an approach that you could try?
You can read it in my post:
https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic ... 904#p62904
Thanks! I will try this and let you know!

ibleedorange02
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Post by ibleedorange02 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:04 am

Ludaris wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:15 am
I had the same problem. For me it helped that I remove the IC which is responsible for the 5V completely and to leave the bridge in it.
But I also had a little bit of a different board than you, but maybe that would be an approach that you could try?
You can read it in my post:
https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic ... 904#p62904
Worked perfectly! Boom! Thanks again!

User avatar
Ludaris
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:51 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Can’t get GBZ to power up on battery. Please help... :|

Post by Ludaris » Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:39 am

ibleedorange02 wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:04 am
Ludaris wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:15 am
I had the same problem. For me it helped that I remove the IC which is responsible for the 5V completely and to leave the bridge in it.
But I also had a little bit of a different board than you, but maybe that would be an approach that you could try?
You can read it in my post:
https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic ... 904#p62904
Worked perfectly! Boom! Thanks again!
Cool, No Problem :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest