Null 2 soldering pi zero onto board

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
craytron

Null 2 soldering pi zero onto board

Post by craytron » Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:41 pm

So.. I'm new to all this, and I'm pretty sure I ruined both my pi zero and my null 2 board in trying to solder the pi onto it. Any tips or tricks or any ways to salvage this? I literally couldn't get the second pin I tried soldering to connect. Pretty frustrated. Now they are taken apart and pretty sure I pulled the lead out of one of them in doing so.

What is the trick to this? so many youtube videos make this look simple and IT'S NOT!

rodocop

Re: Null 2 soldering pi zero onto board

Post by rodocop » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:50 am

Got any pics of what you did so we can help determine if it is actually ruined?

As for tips, make sure you have a solder tip that can fit in the pi's GPIO hole. What I would do is use tape, or little clamps to hold the pi in place. Add liquid flux. Then solder the GPIO's. So put the solder tip into the hole, and then feed some solder into it. Then remove the soldering iron. Sometimes it helps to use a small piece of wire too, so after you get solder into the hole, heat it again to molten, and then push the wire in, this can help the solder flow to the pad below.

The Ground and 5V GPIO may be a little tougher to get a good connections. Check out the minty pi videos wermy has on youtube. I think in one of them he shows how to solder the pi to the minty pi PCB, you will use the same method for the null2.
Last edited by rodocop on Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

rodocop

Post by rodocop » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:15 am

These practice boards by Helder are great too. I reccomend getting some if you are new to soldering. Since flush mount soldering the pi is not that easy for a beginner.

https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/UTRejiOx

https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/voiBAAlu

craytron

Post by craytron » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:14 pm