Tinkerboy v3 "No Gamepad Detected" issue

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
vinomer

Tinkerboy v3 "No Gamepad Detected" issue

Post by vinomer » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:36 am

I've got everything set up (installing L1, L2, R1, R2 and analog later). screen works fine, Retropie loads up as normal. My only issue is that I'm getting the dreaded "No Gamepad Detected" screen. I've Googled everywhere before making this post in hopes of finding an easy solution, maybe something as easy as a software fix.

Tinkerboy v3.0.1 PCB Board
Tinkerboy v1.1 DPI Adapter

Some things I've already done.
- Installed modified Retropie 4.4 from TinkerBoy's website
- Removed and re-soldered all wiring
- Made sure PCB is screwed securely/tightly in place
- D+, D-, 5v, and GND firmly soldered from PCB to GPIO
- I haven't copied or done anything to the Config file (not sure if I had to) in Retropie.

This is my first time using glue sticks to hold everything in place, big mistake. I always recommend using JBWeld ClearWeld epoxy.
Last edited by vinomer on Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

rodocop

Re: Tinkerboy v3 "No Gamepad Detected" issue

Post by rodocop » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:43 am

I can't see the D+ and D- on the pi side, I would expect the issue is something to due with those connections, since the controls are handled via USB. Does the audio work, since it is also USB controlled. What about the external USB, plug in a keyboard, and see if it works. If not you for sure have an issue with the data connections.