Modding a 5" lcd to 5V?

Hardware-related questions that don't fit into any of the specialized hardware categories go here.
the antithesis

Modding a 5" lcd to 5V?

Post by the antithesis » Sat May 16, 2020 1:57 pm

So I have various projects and for one of them I got a 5" back camera display because bigger, right? and it's nice and big but I have no real background in electronics so I don't know how to mod this myself. Fortunately, I found an instructables here on how to do it. Long story short, the guy hooked a USB battery pack up to the VCC of the I2C header on the board and it seemed to work.

My question is, is this at all a good idea? My board clearly labels it as VCC 3.3 and the data sheet of the main chip (AMT630A video display controller) has 3.3 power supply only. Therefore, 5v should be frying this thing, however slowly.

So is this at all a good idea or is there another way?

I did find another set of instructions for modding a 4.3" screen, but that required being able to figure out what the components are. the impossibly tiny writing is not legible even with a magifying glass.

infinitLoop

Re: Modding a 5" lcd to 5V?

Post by infinitLoop » Thu May 21, 2020 9:02 am

the antithesis wrote:
Sat May 16, 2020 1:57 pm
So I have various projects and for one of them I got a 5" back camera display because bigger, right? and it's nice and big but I have no real background in electronics so I don't know how to mod this myself. Fortunately, I found an instructables here on how to do it. Long story short, the guy hooked a USB battery pack up to the VCC of the I2C header on the board and it seemed to work.

My question is, is this at all a good idea? My board clearly labels it as VCC 3.3 and the data sheet of the main chip (AMT630A video display controller) has 3.3 power supply only. Therefore, 5v should be frying this thing, however slowly.

So is this at all a good idea or is there another way?