[Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Completed sale threads will be moved here to keep things tidy in the main For Sale forum.
User avatar
WoodMill
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:57 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by WoodMill » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:11 am

Running on Battery.

Been shutting down in Emulation Station and not in game.
Follow my Youtube Vlog about Filmmaking
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds

User avatar
Camble
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 2:31 am
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 487 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by Camble » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:30 am

I've been able to replicate the same issue. Power cuts instantly when the charging cable is plugged in. In fact, if the script isn't running and the switch is set to OFF, it shuts off as soon as I plug in the charging cable.

I'd like to say I know what's causing this, but it seems like some fluctuation on the gate is causing everything to shut off.

I'm currently working on another version for the PowerBoost. Hopefully I'll be able to work around this issue.

User avatar
Mischief
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 7:50 am
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by Mischief » Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:04 am

Camble wrote:I've been able to replicate the same issue. Power cuts instantly when the charging cable is plugged in. In fact, if the script isn't running and the switch is set to OFF, it shuts off as soon as I plug in the charging cable.

I'd like to say I know what's causing this, but it seems like some fluctuation on the gate is causing everything to shut off.

I'm currently working on another version for the PowerBoost. Hopefully I'll be able to work around this issue.
Well I will be ordering 2 of the new version when its ready ;)

cobramike
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 12:31 am
Location: Gelderland, Netherlands
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 60 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by cobramike » Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:35 am

Mischief wrote:
Camble wrote:I've been able to replicate the same issue. Power cuts instantly when the charging cable is plugged in. In fact, if the script isn't running and the switch is set to OFF, it shuts off as soon as I plug in the charging cable.

I'd like to say I know what's causing this, but it seems like some fluctuation on the gate is causing everything to shut off.

I'm currently working on another version for the PowerBoost. Hopefully I'll be able to work around this issue.
Well I will be ordering 2 of the new version when its ready ;)
Ya me to. Then i have the Banggood and Hope fully the version 2 powerboost.
Whooo Stop befor ask in a post. First use the search or the wiki befor you make a topic.. Just saying.........

User avatar
WoodMill
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:57 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by WoodMill » Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:56 am

Could it be that my somehow my wiring is simulating this? I took a look at this diagram to see if I routed the cables any different way. And I think the only thing that's different is that I have my Gear Best screen's 5v going directly to the 5V powerstrip, as opposed to the GPIO pin they have shown.

Also below is my wiring. Probably hard to figure out which cable goes to which end when it goes under the Shutdown switch, but they go to where the diagram says they are suppose to.

But see anything else that looks out of place? I've added the reset switch since this photo. And it still works fine.

http://i.imgur.com/jJddqdg.png
SudoGracefullshutdown.jpg
SudoGracefullshutdown.jpg (4.6 MiB) Viewed 4062 times
Follow my Youtube Vlog about Filmmaking
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds

User avatar
Camble
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 2:31 am
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 487 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by Camble » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:10 am

@WoodMill It looks like you have GPIO17 and GPIO27 swapped. I could be wrong, since the wires are similar colours, but it looks like you have low battery to GPIO27 and shutdown to GPIO17

User avatar
WoodMill
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:57 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by WoodMill » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:21 am

Ive got it wired like the diagram says. Is it wrong?

Here's the diagram, and closeups of my wires.
SudoGracefullshutdown2.jpg
SudoGracefullshutdown2.jpg (554.21 KiB) Viewed 4056 times
Follow my Youtube Vlog about Filmmaking
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds

User avatar
Camble
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 2:31 am
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 487 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by Camble » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:32 am

@WoodMill I really can't tell from your photographs. You have a white wire and a light grey wire. I'd just double check them to be sure.

User avatar
WoodMill
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:57 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by WoodMill » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:46 am

Yeah, sorry. Here's an image with the colors called out. To me, they go along with the diagram, unless I'm overlooking something.
SudoGracefullshutdown3.jpg
SudoGracefullshutdown3.jpg (578.51 KiB) Viewed 4051 times
Follow my Youtube Vlog about Filmmaking
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds

User avatar
WoodMill
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:57 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: [Pre-Order] Safe Shutdown Switch (PowerBoost Version) - Closed

Post by WoodMill » Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:50 am

@Camble

Could there be ANY chance that this line in the config.txt file could have interfered with the shutdown?

Code: Select all

"max_usb_current = 1"
I just removed it since I got the USB working another way. And decided to give it a shot and see if it powered off without that line. And it looks like it may have properly shut down. Took a couple seconds, and then a line of text popped up on screen and then it was all off.

Love when things work, but hate when they do without me knowing why.
Follow my Youtube Vlog about Filmmaking
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest