No power to LCD

Post Reply
riddleza
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:25 am

No power to LCD

Post by riddleza » Tue Sep 01, 2020 7:42 am

Hi everyone,

Im working on putting my first circuit sword together, or any modded Gameboy for that matter. Things seemed to be going smoothly as i was getting the board set up, but I ran into some serious problems when I got to the displays.
Here's how I got where I am...

1. Checked that the USB and battery were powering the CS and that the USB C was charging the battery. No problems.

2. Connected the add on board and power switch board. No problems

3. Kapton tape on wifi module

4. Compute module in.

5. LCD plugged in

6. Downloaded software version 1.3.3 and wrote the image to my SD card using win32. Went into tester mode in notepad. Ejected and inserted the card into CS.

From here, I was unsure which of the monitors was the 640x480 (any help with this would be appreciated. Ive already contacted kite about it) so I tried both. One just gave me some white scan lines on an otherwise black screen (I had not soldered the bridge on the board or changed the config file to enable rhe 640 screen at this point, perhaps this is what caused this). I turned it off, put the other one in. It started up, and passed all the tests. Then, I assumed that I may have just installed the other one incorrectly, so I powered down, reinstalled the other one and started up again. This time nothing at all. No scan lines. Seemed like it wasn't getting power. Powered down, put other seemingly working one back in and same issue. Now i have two displays and neither work. I have powered down, unplugged everything, plugged it back in, powered down and up again over and over. Still can't get anything on the display. I put sd card back on my laptop and the image seems to be fine.

I'm stumped, I still don't know which monitor is the 640x480, and neither are working at the moment. Im concerned that neither display appears to be getting any power and that there could be a problem with the board itself. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've attached some pictures in case you want to check things out.

Thanks again,

Zachary Riddle
Attachments
20200901_001044.jpg
20200901_001044.jpg (3.92 MiB) Viewed 721 times
20200901_004525.jpg
20200901_004525.jpg (3.14 MiB) Viewed 721 times
20200901_004536.jpg
20200901_004536.jpg (3.06 MiB) Viewed 721 times
20200901_004703.jpg
20200901_004703.jpg (3.74 MiB) Viewed 721 times
20200901_004724.jpg
20200901_004724.jpg (2.79 MiB) Viewed 721 times
20200901_004737.jpg
20200901_004737.jpg (3.41 MiB) Viewed 721 times

riddleza
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:25 am

Re: No power to LCD

Post by riddleza » Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:48 pm

Update: I tried to power up again and and I see SOMETHING on the display. It is alternating between a black screen and a very faint screen of different color gradients. I believe this may be the startup test screen from what I can remember from the one time I saw it clearly. The black screen may be the white and green text on black background, i just can't see it. Its that dark. The color gradients are so light I can't photograph them but clear enough that I can identify that its the same screen flashing on and off. The other screen is still NOTHING.

BigStotty
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:07 am
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: No power to LCD

Post by BigStotty » Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:54 am

riddleza wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:48 pm
Update: I tried to power up again and and I see SOMETHING on the display. It is alternating between a black screen and a very faint screen of different color gradients. I believe this may be the startup test screen from what I can remember from the one time I saw it clearly. The black screen may be the white and green text on black background, i just can't see it. Its that dark. The color gradients are so light I can't photograph them but clear enough that I can identify that its the same screen flashing on and off. The other screen is still NOTHING.
640x480 should have ET035VG03-D on the back, also remember to update the config file if using this one

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest