Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

o-prime
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:27 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by o-prime » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:30 pm

I've got the same problem with the button input like JCDenton5 description in the first post under No.2
But i have the Circuit Sword instead.
Maybe the same issue with this transistor?
Is there any chance to check this by myself or is it necessary to send the board back?

User avatar
kite
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 344 times
Contact:

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by kite » Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:06 pm

o-prime wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:30 pm
I've got the same problem with the button input like JCDenton5 description in the first post under No.2
But i have the Circuit Sword instead.
Maybe the same issue with this transistor?
Is there any chance to check this by myself or is it necessary to send the board back?
I need more information, the circuitry on the circuit sword is completely different to the SAIO so it will not be the same. Could you let me know what happens and in what conditions.. e.g. with/without battery/usb.. please describe in your own words

o-prime
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:27 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by o-prime » Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:26 pm

kite wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:06 pm
I need more information, the circuitry on the circuit sword is completely different to the SAIO so it will not be the same. Could you let me know what happens and in what conditions.. e.g. with/without battery/usb.. please describe in your own words
When i power up (with/or without battery is connected) it boots into emulationstation. Then ES ask for CONFIGURE INPUT. The display is show: "1 GAMEPAD DETECTED"
When i press any button, nothing happens. It seems like it doesn't recognize anything. But when i try to enable or disable wifi, for example, with the mode button this will work.
With connecting a keyboard via USB, i'm able to configure the input buttons on the keyboard.

User avatar
YaYa
Posts: 1719
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: brittany - France
Has thanked: 871 times
Been thanked: 688 times
Contact:

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by YaYa » Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:30 pm

It’s likely you need to reinstall the image. As the PC sees the gamepad and can use it, it’s correctly flashed.
Follow me on instagram Image

JCDenton5
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:17 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by JCDenton5 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:55 am

kite wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:02 pm
Fixed ;) was the transistor 'Q10' at the top left, once replaced it's all working now! :)
Great news! :D
The transistor was the same reason for the power issue and the button issue?

User avatar
kite
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 344 times
Contact:

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by kite » Mon Feb 26, 2018 2:14 am

JCDenton5 wrote:
Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:55 am
kite wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:02 pm
Fixed ;) was the transistor 'Q10' at the top left, once replaced it's all working now! :)
Great news! :D
The transistor was the same reason for the power issue and the button issue?
Yep! :)
o-prime wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:26 pm
kite wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:06 pm
I need more information, the circuitry on the circuit sword is completely different to the SAIO so it will not be the same. Could you let me know what happens and in what conditions.. e.g. with/without battery/usb.. please describe in your own words
When i press any button, nothing happens. It seems like it doesn't recognize anything. But when i try to enable or disable wifi, for example, with the mode button this will work.
With connecting a keyboard via USB, i'm able to configure the input buttons on the keyboard.
Which button are you holding? AFAIK the DPAD won't 'register' so assuming you're holding down A or something? There is an LED next to the Arduino chip, it should be dimly yellow.. when you hold the MODE button it should glow a lot brighter.. can you confirm this?

Can you also run in tester mode and let me know the output: https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... ESTER-Mode

o-prime
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:27 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by o-prime » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:49 am

I solved it by myself :D
I figured out, that the control input was not possible because it seems the mode button is pushed permanently.
I checked the connection from the mode button/on-off switch board to the back board and there was the mode pin wich was bended to ground.

JCDenton5
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:17 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by JCDenton5 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:28 am

Thanks Kite for the fast return! Everything is working fine now, great support! :D

User avatar
silentjames
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:02 am
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by silentjames » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:42 pm

Hey kite!
I faced the problem similar to previous one that was described by o-prime.
My CS board doesn't react to button presses when I try to configure buttons. If I connect usb-keyboard, everything works perfectly, but d-pad and A/B/X/Y buttons don't work, and CS can't detect it's own gamepad. I tried with battery (by Dextech) and with/without usb-с - nothing. Same for newly-flashed SD image, and after upgrade from repo too.
Some pics of the board and tester modeShow
Image
Image
Image
As o-prime has recommended, I checked the continuity between two legs of mode button. When the button isn't pressed, my multimeter shows 558 or about; when pressed - 001. So it looks like the button thinks it is pushed even when it is not. But I have no idea how to fix it.
Any suggestions?

User avatar
kite
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 344 times
Contact:

Re: Power switch doesnt work; Problems with buttons

Post by kite » Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:41 am

When you press the buttons does brightness go up/down or wifi on/off etc?

You might want to try updating the Arduino: https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... spberry-pi

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest