Sword WIFI Issue

Post Reply
sandog
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Sword WIFI Issue

Post by sandog » Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:14 pm

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong or missing something, I can turn the wifi on but when I go 2 wifi on the retropi menu it says wifi county not set. I go to the localization options and try and change the county it says no interface found. Do I need a dongle or is wifi built-in.

User avatar
kite
Posts: 935
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 238 times
Been thanked: 317 times
Contact:

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by kite » Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:55 am

What does the icon in the top right corner look like? Is it an '!' or an 'X' ? I'm guessing it's an 'X' in which case what you should do is do the mode disable button combo, wait 10 full seconds, and then do the mode enable combo, wait a full 10 seconds .. now is the icon a '!' ? If not, repeat the previous steps again.. you want it to be an exclamation point, and NOT an X

When it asks to set the country, just press no, it seems to mess things around a bit depending on the country so i'd just avoid setting it to rule that out!

johannes99
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 2:29 am

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by johannes99 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 2:07 am

Hello,
I have the same problem with my circuit sword that i received last week.
I applied the capton tape and testet the wifi when the two halfs were folded out, but could not connect to wifi. I only get the wifi symbol with a "X".
Sometimes when I start the wifi after I wait 10 seconds I get an "!" for a second.
This is pretty strange, because when i tested the circuit sword the wifi was working an i could ssh into the pi. Now it is only possible with an wifi dongle. I also tried an fresh install with the newest firmware, but i had no luck.

User avatar
kite
Posts: 935
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 238 times
Been thanked: 317 times
Contact:

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by kite » Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:32 am

johannes99 wrote:
Sun Dec 08, 2019 2:07 am
Hello,
I have the same problem with my circuit sword that i received last week.
I applied the capton tape and testet the wifi when the two halfs were folded out, but could not connect to wifi. I only get the wifi symbol with a "X".
Sometimes when I start the wifi after I wait 10 seconds I get an "!" for a second.
This is pretty strange, because when i tested the circuit sword the wifi was working an i could ssh into the pi. Now it is only possible with an wifi dongle. I also tried an fresh install with the newest firmware, but i had no luck.
Could you collect the log files? https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... -log-files

johannes99
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 2:29 am

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by johannes99 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:40 pm

Hi,
today I had time an collected the logs from an fresh install of the system from 18. of november.
I could not figure out how to upload the .txt files directly so i used a different service to do that:

https://www.scribd.com/document/439684439/Messages
https://www.scribd.com/document/439684440/syslog


I hope you can help me.

best regards
Johannes

User avatar
kite
Posts: 935
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 238 times
Been thanked: 317 times
Contact:

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by kite » Tue Dec 17, 2019 6:37 am

From that log it looks like the module isn't being detected so will likely need to be returned for repair.

The log lines

Code: Select all

sdhost-bcm2835 3f202000.mmc: could not get clk, deferring probe
show that it couldn't connect to it.

If you send me an email we'll sort out a return/replacement

millski
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:07 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by millski » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:51 am

Hi, I'm having the same problem. Wifi menu reports no WLAN0 present and switching off and on in the mode menu just shows an "X" on the wifi icon :(

MrErickson
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:04 pm
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Sword WIFI Issue

Post by MrErickson » Wed Mar 18, 2020 9:20 pm

I ran into this issue as well with my CS from last round, I just got it put together tonight, WIFI was working like a champ, did my configuration and copied some stuff over, it seemed like it froze up, I don't know exactly was i was up stairs, the UI wasn't responding and after a reboot my wifi was showing the X. I was unable to resolve the issue with what was shown above.

It isn't a huge deal for me, I have a USB wifi dongle and don't use WIFI beyond the initial set up and also have a previous generation CS I can swap the card into if I ever needed to as well. It was odd though that WIFI was working then suddenly not.

:::Edit:::
The issue grows more curious, I had my new build powered down and charging for an hour or so, turned it on to check the charge level before unplugging it and getting ready to call it a night. On a whim I turned the WIFI on, no dongle and it connected without issue, no X.

I will check it again in the morning and report back but thought this worth sharing.

:::Edit 2:::
This morning the WIFI connected up right away without issue. When I have time tonight I'll leave it on, do a little copying to it, play some, see if it does the X thing again. Quite weird though.

:::Edit 3:::
Just got home from work, turned the GB on, turned the WIFI on and it is back to the X.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest