UP Button doesn't work

Having trouble with your mintyPi build? Post your questions here!
User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

UP Button doesn't work

Post by ViaCard » Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:06 pm

I have a problem with my MintyPi and need help.

My UP Button don't work. Everything else works fine just the UP Button don't work.

I test the connections an soldered also the Testpad directly to the GPIO from the Pi and still dead.

Is there a way I can connect the UP-Testpad from the PCB to another GPIO from the Pi? If yes wich one?

Or is there another way I can make work the UP Button?

Thank you for your help!
Attachments
IMG_4823.jpg
IMG_4823.jpg (107.66 KiB) Viewed 2169 times
IMG_4822.jpg
IMG_4822.jpg (100.01 KiB) Viewed 2169 times
IMG_4821.jpg
IMG_4821.jpg (95.27 KiB) Viewed 2169 times
IMG_4819.jpg
IMG_4819.jpg (78.42 KiB) Viewed 2169 times

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2887
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Rogers, AR
Has thanked: 1436 times
Been thanked: 3096 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by Helder » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:07 pm

Easiest way to test the up is to take that wire soldered to the GPIO and remove it from the UP pad and touch any gnd pad to see if it works, it does then there is likely a broken trace on the UP. We can trouble shoot it once you verify that touching GND with that wire makes UP work.
My Sale Threads:

Retro PSU, 3.5A output!


Chat with me and other members


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by ViaCard » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:51 pm

Helder wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:07 pm
Easiest way to test the up is to take that wire soldered to the GPIO and remove it from the UP pad and touch any gnd pad to see if it works, it does then there is likely a broken trace on the UP. We can trouble shoot it once you verify that touching GND with that wire makes UP work.
I tried, but still doesn't work.
Attachments
IMG_4830.jpg
IMG_4830.jpg (107.86 KiB) Viewed 2159 times
IMG_4829.jpg
IMG_4829.jpg (116.58 KiB) Viewed 2159 times

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2887
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Rogers, AR
Has thanked: 1436 times
Been thanked: 3096 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by Helder » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:57 pm

No you don't solder it to the GND you just touch a GND point while the system is running to see if the Up direction works, the GPIO buttons only register a button when it touches GND for a second. The way you have it now the UP is constantly being pressed in.
My Sale Threads:

Retro PSU, 3.5A output!


Chat with me and other members


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by ViaCard » Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:06 pm

Helder wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:57 pm
No you don't solder it to the GND you just touch a GND point while the system is running to see if the Up direction works, the GPIO buttons only register a button when it touches GND for a second. The way you have it now the UP is constantly being pressed in.
ah ok, now i understand.

when i touch a gnd point an press the UP Button it jumps straight up to AUDIO in the Menu.
Attachments
IMG_4834.jpg
IMG_4834.jpg (105.17 KiB) Viewed 2152 times
IMG_4833.jpg
IMG_4833.jpg (76.26 KiB) Viewed 2152 times

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2887
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Rogers, AR
Has thanked: 1436 times
Been thanked: 3096 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by Helder » Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:54 pm

Ok so now we know the GPIO code is working on the Pi now let's test continuity from the UP test pad to the UP button pad on the face of the PCB. Basically these 2 points below:
UP1.jpg
UP1.jpg (385.6 KiB) Viewed 2140 times
Attachments
UP2.jpg
UP2.jpg (237.38 KiB) Viewed 2140 times
My Sale Threads:

Retro PSU, 3.5A output!


Chat with me and other members


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by ViaCard » Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:45 am

Helder wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:54 pm
Ok so now we know the GPIO code is working on the Pi now let's test continuity from the UP test pad to the UP button pad on the face of the PCB. Basically these 2 points below:

UP1.jpg
I checked it and there is a connection between these points.
Attachments
IMG_4835.jpg
IMG_4835.jpg (114.79 KiB) Viewed 2128 times

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2887
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Rogers, AR
Has thanked: 1436 times
Been thanked: 3096 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by Helder » Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:18 pm

So if there is continuity (arrow symbol with a +) between the 2 points I indicated then soldering a wire to that test pad from the GPIO that is up should be working. Double check you're checking continuity as I had someone tell me continuity was good but was using a different setting on the meter.
My Sale Threads:

Retro PSU, 3.5A output!


Chat with me and other members


Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). Don't contact me about any of my boards if they are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them.


Don't support thieves like ckliang who copied my AIO to resell and is now cloning the mintyPi, support the original creators and not the thieves!

User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by ViaCard » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:46 pm

Helder wrote:
Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:18 pm
So if there is continuity (arrow symbol with a +) between the 2 points I indicated then soldering a wire to that test pad from the GPIO that is up should be working. Double check you're checking continuity as I had someone tell me continuity was good but was using a different setting on the meter.
Wich setting on the meter is the right one?

User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: UP Button doesn't work

Post by ViaCard » Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:03 pm

Helder wrote:
Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:18 pm
So if there is continuity (arrow symbol with a +) between the 2 points I indicated then soldering a wire to that test pad from the GPIO that is up should be working. Double check you're checking continuity as I had someone tell me continuity was good but was using a different setting on the meter.
Still doesn't work
Attachments
IMG_4838.jpg
IMG_4838.jpg (106.45 KiB) Viewed 2108 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests