Bracket for 640x480 Full VGA display ?

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
Post Reply
jpe
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 6:31 am

Bracket for 640x480 Full VGA display ?

Post by jpe » Fri May 18, 2018 12:11 am

Hello everyone,

I'm beginning my GBZ build (well, I'm waiting for many parts... :oops: )
I already have this screen ( -clic here- ) from a previous project, which is fitting perfectly in the case. But I tried to download and print some existing brackets, no one is fitting with this screen.
Does anyone have a corresponding bracket (I just need the stl file) ? Or can anyone give me the source of a standard bracket that I could modify by myself ?

Thanks a lot !

JPE

sgtgrumbles
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:53 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Bracket for 640x480 Full VGA display ?

Post by sgtgrumbles » Wed May 23, 2018 6:39 pm

Hi JPE,

Could you take pictures of your screen mounted inside your case? I ask because I have not been able to find a 640x480 screen that fits inside the GB case. This includes removing the screen's metal casing and sanding down the inside of the case to help. Furthermore, the screen, once installed, requires changes to the /boot/config.txt overscan settings to center the image because the screen is off-center. This, of course, then wreaks havoc on the aspect ratio and causes screen tearing, shimmering, etc.

I'd be interested in seeing how you addressed these issues.

jpe
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 6:31 am

Re: Bracket for 640x480 Full VGA display ?

Post by jpe » Thu May 24, 2018 1:05 am

Hi !
You can see the exact screen here : https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic ... 5&start=60 (scroll down to Cannikin's posts). There's pictures with the screen fitted in.
:)

User avatar
rodocop
Posts: 1115
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:14 pm
Location: Saskatchewan
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 386 times

Re: Bracket for 640x480 Full VGA display ?

Post by rodocop » Fri May 25, 2018 7:47 pm

Never seen a mount for that screen. It isnt really common. Hot glue it likely your best bet.

I have that same screen but figured it would be too annoying to go into my gbz. So it's going into my upcoming gamegear build.
_____________________________________________________
My Minty Pi builds four so far:
http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=3628
My GBZ builds, twelve and counting:
http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 813#p50813
My four modded DMG-01's:
http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2696
My NESpi:
http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2941

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests