Screen is displaying wrong colors

Atom
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:22 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by Atom » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:12 pm

The gameboy screen has parts of it that are not the right color, similar to this, but not quite: https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=5838

I have tried imaging it again and switching screens to no avail. When plugged into a TV the colors are correct. Any solutions? Thanks.
Attachments
IMG_0968.JPG
IMG_0968.JPG (1.07 MiB) Viewed 228 times

leny
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by leny » Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:45 am

I am kind of having a similar issue with the screen in my circuit sword kit, although at a lower degree.
The bright pixels seems to "cast" a white shadow to the left. This doesn't happen in all games, it seems to depend on the game's palette.
I thought it could be a bad screen connection, so I unplugged it, cleaned it, put it back carefully and got the exact same issue.
Could that come from the screen itself ?
Attachments
mw2.jpg
mw2.jpg (784.73 KiB) Viewed 141 times
mw1.jpg
mw1.jpg (606.52 KiB) Viewed 141 times

User avatar
kite
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 318 times
Been thanked: 2008 times
Contact:

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by kite » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:09 am

leny wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:45 am
I am kind of having a similar issue with the screen in my circuit sword kit, although at a lower degree.
The bright pixels seems to "cast" a white shadow to the left. This doesn't happen in all games, it seems to depend on the game's palette.
I thought it could be a bad screen connection, so I unplugged it, cleaned it, put it back carefully and got the exact same issue.
Could that come from the screen itself ?
Try the same with the compute module connector too, might help..

leny
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by leny » Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:51 am

kite wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:09 am
Try the same with the compute module connector too, might help..
Just gave it a try, no luck sadly.
Also had a try at the TESTER mode, the screen looks fine in that mode.

Edit: strangely enough it seems to only be happening on the blue.

User avatar
kite
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 318 times
Been thanked: 2008 times
Contact:

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by kite » Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:30 am

leny wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:51 am
kite wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:09 am
Try the same with the compute module connector too, might help..
Just gave it a try, no luck sadly.
Also had a try at the TESTER mode, the screen looks fine in that mode.

Edit: strangely enough it seems to only be happening on the blue.
Hm, things to try with the screen showing something that highlights it:

1. Pressing the FPC cable at the BASE of the LCD, try and push it 'into' the LCD and generally move it around a bit
2. Putting pressure on the LCD connector, trying to push the pins at the back of it down slightly to see if there is an unsoldered connection here (if possible, get me a close up high quality photo (use bright light) of the pins at the back of the LCD connector)
3. Putting pressure on the back of the CM3 connector, the area nearest the top where the wifi module is (if possible, get me a close up high quality photo (use bright light) of the pins in this area)

The possible outcomes to this are:

A. Identifying that there is perhaps an inconsistently soldered connection --> solder yourself or return for repair
B. Not being able to change the appearance at all --> return for repair
C. LCD is faulty --> I can send out a new LCD

So we'll see what comes of it!

leny
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by leny » Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:42 am

Thanks I'll try that.
As the screen looked OK in TESTER mode I originally glued in Hoolywoo lcd bracket, I need to figure out how to get it out without damage.

User avatar
kite
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 318 times
Been thanked: 2008 times
Contact:

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by kite » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:04 am

leny wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:42 am
Thanks I'll try that.
As the screen looked OK in TESTER mode I originally glued in Hoolywoo lcd bracket, I need to figure out how to get it out without damage.
Perhaps skip that bit then, if you hot glued it you might have a chance otherwise perhaps not!

leny
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by leny » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:10 pm

Here are the pics of the connectors.
Stuff that I didn't notice with naked eyes, the first 3 pins on the cm3 don't look very clean, and possibly more importantly on the lcd some pins seems connected, are they supposed to be ?
Attachments
CIMG3207.JPG
CIMG3207.JPG (1.8 MiB) Viewed 97 times
CIMG3206.JPG
CIMG3206.JPG (1.79 MiB) Viewed 97 times
CIMG3205.JPG
CIMG3205.JPG (1.8 MiB) Viewed 97 times

User avatar
kite
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 318 times
Been thanked: 2008 times
Contact:

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by kite » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:19 am

Hm good spot on the LCD connector. The way I would remove that, is to get a little flux onto those bits of solder, and use a hot soldering iron tip to try and gently pull away (we're talking about those little bits of solder on the TOP of the connector, not where the PCB is).

Could you get me another picture but further to the top of the CM3 module, the LCD pins start from the VERY top edge of the connector and go down to the bottom of the wifi module.. so same picture just move the camera more over the wifi module :)

Those first 3 pins are power so they're fine to be like that

leny
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:23 am

Re: Screen is displaying wrong colors

Post by leny » Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:57 pm

Thank you for your help and sending me in the right direction.
I tried the iron but couldn't do it precisely enough, I finally used a pin to try to scrap in between.
It ultimately worked and the screen is now perfect !
Thanks again.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests