Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Helmstreet
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Helmstreet » Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:38 am

Hi all,

I built my first two circuit swords last week and have been banging my head against the wall trying to get the Bluetooth working. This has been a really fun project and I'm learning a ton, but I need to emphasize that I'm just learning. My command line skills are rusty at best.

The solutions in this section are spread out and sometimes contradictory as new solutions updated old ones. Is there any chance someone can collate it into a single post as a how to? I'm having trouble figuring out what I'm doing wrong.

At this point I may just need to wait until Kite updates the CS software with a Bluetooth fix (no rush on that, Kite). I really appreciate everyone's help on this forum. So far every other issue I've had has been answered really clearly here.

Thanks!

Crainium17
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Crainium17 » Wed Nov 27, 2019 3:59 am

Does anyone have pictures of post mod? I have the circuit sword and am wanting to connect Bluetooth headset to it and so I guess I'm going to have to do the mod myself and was just curious if I could get better pics or a guide of what wire to use, maybe where to get said wire and actual pictures of the mod done. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

User avatar
kite
Posts: 888
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 299 times
Contact:

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by kite » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:52 am

If anyone is interested in have a go I have made an experimental build that should have BT working: https://mega.nz/#!iDIV1Yzb!O7LYl8IwB4h9 ... mkz5RlJ1Vc. Here are the changes compared to master (latest normal build): https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... are/bt-dev

Crainium17
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Crainium17 » Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:44 pm

kite wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:52 am
If anyone is interested in have a go I have made an experimental build that should have BT working: https://mega.nz/#!iDIV1Yzb!O7LYl8IwB4h9 ... mkz5RlJ1Vc. Here are the changes compared to master (latest normal build): https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... are/bt-dev
Is this the same you just sent me in an email? I'm definitely interested in the working Bluetooth to try and get Bluetooth headset/earbuds and controller to work on! Especially having hdmi on the build!

Crainium17
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Crainium17 » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:35 am

kite wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:52 am
If anyone is interested in have a go I have made an experimental build that should have BT working: https://mega.nz/#!iDIV1Yzb!O7LYl8IwB4h9 ... mkz5RlJ1Vc. Here are the changes compared to master (latest normal build): https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... are/bt-dev
Okay I got the chance to load that software and try it out, I finally got it to recognize my 8bitdo controller and BT headset but when I clicked on the headset I got this message in the picture.
20191206_072803.jpg
20191206_072803.jpg (4.23 MiB) Viewed 76 times

Crainium17
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Crainium17 » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:43 pm

Great news, I got the 8bitdo BT controller connected and working with no problems! I tried the Bluetooth headset again and went through each type as far as (display, keyboard... Etc) and is still a no go as far as now. I get this message now every time I try to connect the headset.
Attachments
20191206_133730.jpg
20191206_133730.jpg (3.94 MiB) Viewed 70 times

Crainium17
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Crainium17 » Fri Dec 06, 2019 2:35 pm

20191206_141838.jpg
20191206_141838.jpg (5.55 MiB) Viewed 65 times
It will register the devices and the 8bitdo controller will work but I'm not sure how to connect the headsets and get audio out of them? I tried 2 different pair... Any ideas?

superman
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:08 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by superman » Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:45 am

It will register the devices and the 8bitdo controller will work but I'm not sure how to connect the headsets and get audio out of them? I tried 2 different pair... Any ideas?
Try this (I don't think pi supports Bluetooth audio out of the box)
https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/203 ... -3-model-b
https://www.reddit.com/r/RetroPie/comme ... ource=link
I'm not sure if these will work...
The reddit one look promising but i suggest backing your SD card up just in case ;) ;)

User avatar
kite
Posts: 888
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 299 times
Contact:

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by kite » Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:01 am

This script is in "Circuit-Sword/settings/bluetooth-audio.sh" which probably needs to be run under sudo, but it apparently does the setup needed

https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... h-audio.sh

I haven't tried it :) Nor did I write it :P

Crainium17
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Circuit Sword Bluetooth

Post by Crainium17 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 6:37 am

kite wrote:
Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:01 am
This script is in "Circuit-Sword/settings/bluetooth-audio.sh" which probably needs to be run under sudo, but it apparently does the setup needed

https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... h-audio.sh

I haven't tried it :) Nor did I write it :P
So if I am going to try this route I press F4 and then enter: sudo nano /Circuit-Sword/settings/bluetooth-audio.sh

Is that correct and once it takes me there I input all that in per the lines?

One problem I'm having and I'm sure it's me and for another topic but I still have no audio for my video splash screens as well, audio works fine in the ES and in game play. But when searching for the omxplayer to change "both" to "alsa" using the sudo nano and so far all the different ways I've seen, I can never find any text when using sudo nano just a blank screen with of course the options at the bottom for like exit, write, jump to line and so on but no code.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eggbowl and 0 guests