[Solved] Another screen problem :(

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Mike9490
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time

[Solved] Another screen problem :(

Post by Mike9490 » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:33 am

Hello everyone,
I'm trying to create a game boy zero with a bigger screen (4.3'') (the other components are the same XD).
The screen is this one: https://it.aliexpress.com/item/Jansite- ... 4c4dc83HDs
I try to find out the 5V pin with my multimeter but i only find 3v tensions on the pin (or 0,2v).
Image

Image

Someone can help me?
Last edited by Mike9490 on Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
infinitLoop
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:46 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by infinitLoop » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:54 am

i think you need to get a better picture of the chips with legs on them. it may not seem like it, but there are chip codes printed on them, if you can get the zoom and angle/light just right, you can get a picture of them on your phone, but it's not easy. it might be that that size screen doesn't do the 5v conversion too.

Mike9490
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by Mike9490 » Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:11 pm

I write all the components that are unreadable in the image.
Image

do you think it's impossible to convert this screen?

User avatar
infinitLoop
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:46 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by infinitLoop » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:29 pm

i can't say for sure, but none of those look very promising. you'd have to test the pins, but if you did that and none were reading 5v, then it might not have that voltage converter. have you tested to see if it'll just power up on 5v? if it does, it might be ok to run it like that, just inefficient.

Mike9490
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by Mike9490 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:54 am

I try using the 5 V but obviously it doesn't work...
I'll use the multimeter another time and i hope to find some 5V that i don't see :(

User avatar
correia5022
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 12:32 am
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by correia5022 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:49 pm

Well, not sure if it would work, but i did something similat into some audio amplifier boards and worked:
See that 10V cap? i'm sure there is a 5v rail passing there. i connected my 5v power supply to it and works.
ATTENTION: i used in audio amps, not in that type of pcb's. (but it wont hurt at least measure its voltage... confident it will read 5v)
________________________________________
Starting on electronics :)
My first build, 2 years later
https://sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 8&start=30
Check out my Boombox: https://nrcboombox.wixsite.com/website

Mike9490
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by Mike9490 » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:54 am

correia5022 wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:49 pm
Well, not sure if it would work, but i did something similat into some audio amplifier boards and worked:
See that 10V cap? i'm sure there is a 5v rail passing there. i connected my 5v power supply to it and works.
ATTENTION: i used in audio amps, not in that type of pcb's. (but it wont hurt at least measure its voltage... confident it will read 5v)
Thanks for the reply,
I will try as soon as possible because i give my multimeter to a friends.
I hope to find that 5v somewhere on that board.

User avatar
correia5022
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 12:32 am
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by correia5022 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:20 am

So have you measured the voltage across the cap?
________________________________________
Starting on electronics :)
My first build, 2 years later
https://sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 8&start=30
Check out my Boombox: https://nrcboombox.wixsite.com/website

Mike9490
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by Mike9490 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:58 am

correia5022 wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:20 am
So have you measured the voltage across the cap?
At 20.00 i'll take back my multimeter and try, thx for che reply :mrgreen:

Mike9490
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Another screen problem :(

Post by Mike9490 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:36 pm

correia5022 wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:20 am
So have you measured the voltage across the cap?
I try but i can't find any 5v near the 10V cap ( just a 3.3V on the pin of that capacitor)..... :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BowmarDafty and 1 guest