kite circuit sword

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Boitaklou
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:37 pm

kite circuit sword

Post by Boitaklou » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:37 pm

Hi all,

My Circuit Sword Game-boy works fine and i' m very happy with it.
Yesterday i would try to play on the TV using the HDMI output.
I would play on the TV in 1080p but when i plug the HDMI cable to the TV i think the output video is 640x480.

Using the "one time reboot to HDMI" command in retropie, It looks like there is a problem:
20190313_174122.jpg
20190313_174122.jpg (3 MiB) Viewed 188 times
Any solutions or, do i use the wrong method ?

Thank you !

User avatar
kite
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by kite » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:43 am

Did you edit the config.txt file? Can you upload it here please

Boitaklou
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:37 pm

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by Boitaklou » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:45 am

hi kite,
thank' s for looking at my small problem.
Yes i have edit the config.txt file because my first time plug with hdmi to TV was' not a success.
My config.txt:

# NOTICE: This file is managed by the Circuit Sword software and is used to
# facilitate HDMI/DPI switching. Do not edit any lines that start with "# CS .."

# The following settings are used by the software to determine the state
# For instance, the STATE of 'IDLE' means that this file is complete and won't
# change. The state of 'REBOOTING_TO_HDMI' means this file is in transition to
# becoming HDMI enabled and so you should NOT edit the file at all in this case.
# This works by removing 1x '#' symbol from each line within the HDMI block. This
# means anything with one '#' will end up being enabled. Anything with 2x '#'s
# will remain disabled (e.g. comments, or alternative modes)
# If all goes wrong, restore the config.txt file from the backup:
# sudo cp ~/Circuit-Sword/settings/config.txt /boot/config.txt

# CS CONFIG VERSION: 1.0
# CS CONFIG STATE: IDLE

# For more options and information see
# http://www.raspberrypi.org/documentatio ... fig-txt.md
# Some settings may impact device functionality. See link above for details
# Additional overlays and parameters are documented /boot/overlays/README

# Some settings from the orignal config.txt
gpu_mem_256=128
gpu_mem_512=256
gpu_mem_1024=256
overscan_scale=1

##########################
#### GENERIC SETTINGS ####
##########################

# Disable low voltage warning when on 3.3v
avoid_warnings=2

# Enable safe shutdown
dtoverlay=gpio-poweroff,gpiopin=39,active_low="y"

# Disable onboard audio
dtparam=audio=off

# Enable SDIO wifi
dtoverlay=sdio,poll_once=false

# SD overclock (ONLY IF SD SUPPORTS IT)
#dtoverlay=sdtweak,overclock_50=100

# Always enable the HDMI interface
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

#######################
#### HDMI SETTINGS ####
#######################
# CS START HDMI SETTINGS

## Enable HDMI audio
#dtparam=audio=on
#hdmi_drive=2

## Disable overscan
#disable_overscan=1

## Set HDMI output to 1280x720 (720p)
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=4

### Set HDMI output to 1920x1080 (1080p)
##hdmi_group=1
##hdmi_mode=16

### Set HDMI output to 800x480
##hdmi_group=2
##hdmi_mode=87
##hdmi_cvt=800 480 60 6 0 0 0

# CS END HDMI SETTINGS

#######################
#### DPI SETTINGS #####
#######################
# CS START DPI SETTINGS

# Enable DPI
dtoverlay=dpi18
overscan_left=0
overscan_right=0
overscan_top=0
overscan_bottom=0
enable_dpi_lcd=1
display_default_lcd=1
dpi_group=2
dpi_mode=87

# Enable 320x240 custom display mode
framebuffer_width=320
framebuffer_height=240
display_rotate=2
dpi_output_format=24597
hdmi_timings=320 1 20 30 38 240 1 4 3 10 0 0 0 60 0 9600000 1

# Enable 640x480 custom display mode
#framebuffer_width=640
#framebuffer_height=480
#display_rotate=3
#dpi_output_format=287269
#hdmi_timings=480 1 5 5 14 640 1 3 3 3 0 0 0 60 0 32000000 1

# CS END DPI SETTINGS

of course i would like a 1920x1080 display ...

User avatar
kite
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by kite » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:23 am

Hi, read that 'NOTICE' at the top of the file, you have broken it by removing the # symbols from HDMI config..

See here for the original: https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sw ... config.txt

Basically, if you have "#" in front of the line, it will get enabled when you do "one time reboot to HDMI"
If you have "##" (two hashes) in front of the line, it will NOT get enabled when you do "one time reboot to HDMI".

You have instead removed all the hashes.. if you want 1080p, then add a # to the lines you don't want and remove ONE # for the 1080P lines..

Does that make sense? It's slightly confusing, but what happens is when you do "one time reboot to HDMI" it goes through the HDMI section and REMOVES 1x # for EVERY line.. hence why the above logic works

Specifically, you should not have:

Code: Select all

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=4
instead:

Code: Select all

#hdmi_group=2
#hdmi_mode=4
and then also change:

Code: Select all

### Set HDMI output to 1920x1080 (1080p)
##hdmi_group=1
##hdmi_mode=16
to:

Code: Select all

### Set HDMI output to 1920x1080 (1080p)
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=16
To enable 1080p

stevieboy84
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:08 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by stevieboy84 » Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:06 pm

@kite in that last code block you didn't remove the comments completely. Was that intentional?

User avatar
kite
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by kite » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:12 am

stevieboy84 wrote:
Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:06 pm
@kite in that last code block you didn't remove the comments completely. Was that intentional?
Yes i did, see how it changed from "##" to "#" for certain lines, that is how it's meant to be if you read my complete description of how it works (and why the difference between "#" and "##" is important)

stevieboy84
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:08 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by stevieboy84 » Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:27 am

kite wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:12 am
stevieboy84 wrote:
Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:06 pm
@kite in that last code block you didn't remove the comments completely. Was that intentional?
Yes i did, see how it changed from "##" to "#" for certain lines, that is how it's meant to be if you read my complete description of how it works (and why the difference between "#" and "##" is important)
My bad. the lazy programmer in me just went straight to looking at the code and not reading the 'documentation' above! :)

Boitaklou
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:37 pm

Re: kite circuit sword

Post by Boitaklou » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:58 am

hi,

thank you for the explanation ! sure that i wanted black and i wrote white and vice et versa in the config.txt.
Ok now i' ll try to re edit it with correct arguments... and also try to speak english a little better ;-)

You understand me and it is already good !

Have a good day.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests