Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post Reply
ghostcafe
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by ghostcafe » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:36 pm

Hi everyone,

Finally setting up my Circuit Sword CM3 that I ordered last summer. I've been running through the set up steps here, but I'm getting hung up on step 11, putting in the imaged SD card. I've tried setting up the SD card on my Mac and my roommate's PC, both with tester mode on and off, but nothing's working.

The best result I get is the screen turns on but stays black, and the various status LEDs light up. Here's a photo: Image

Any ideas what I could be doing wrong?

Thanks! Hoping to get this running, excited to finally have it set up.

ghostcafe
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by ghostcafe » Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:14 pm

I did a little bit more digging on this board and found some people had similar issues. I promise I also looked before posting, but clearly not very thoroughly haha.

I found this post: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=6758

And this one: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=6768

Along with the issues from Kite’s github that he linked to in that first link above.

I took some photos of my SD card slot if that’s the issue. I’m not completely sure what I’m looking for to tell if it’s faulty, but here are the photos:

Image

Image

User avatar
kite
Posts: 838
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 221 times
Been thanked: 281 times
Contact:

Re: Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by kite » Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:52 am

Hi, the v1.3A shouldn't have this issue and it does get tested before being sent out, so hopefully it isn't that :) If you insert the SD into a windows PC, does it pop up as a 56MB SD card? If so, if you open it, there should be a bunch of files on there.. is one of them 'config-cs.txt' ? Specifically the 'cs' bit as that's the custom one i put on there :)

Also, do you have another SD that you can try to rule out that possibility?

ghostcafe
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by ghostcafe » Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:11 pm

kite wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:52 am
Hi, the v1.3A shouldn't have this issue and it does get tested before being sent out, so hopefully it isn't that :) If you insert the SD into a windows PC, does it pop up as a 56MB SD card? If so, if you open it, there should be a bunch of files on there.. is one of them 'config-cs.txt' ? Specifically the 'cs' bit as that's the custom one i put on there :)

Also, do you have another SD that you can try to rule out that possibility?
Ah okay. I have two SD cards that I've been trying to use, they both show up as 56.8 MB drives on Windows. And 'config-cs.txt' is on both of them.

I just tested them both again, and I'm still not getting anything. Does it need to be 56.0 MB? Is there an errant 0.8 MB on the cards messing it up? Maybe it's a bad CM3?

Thanks for your help, Kite! I appreciate it.

User avatar
kite
Posts: 838
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 221 times
Been thanked: 281 times
Contact:

Re: Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by kite » Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:04 am

Cool and just to confirm it's def this image: https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sword/releases (not the 'Circuit Sword Lite' image, which is in a different repo)?

Could you also remove the CM3, and clean the CM3 connector itself and re-insert fully?

If no joy for any of that we'll sort out a return, I see the email you have sent so I'll wait for your confirmation and then we'll go from there :)

ghostcafe
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by ghostcafe » Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:05 pm

kite wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:04 am
Cool and just to confirm it's def this image: https://github.com/kiteretro/Circuit-Sword/releases (not the 'Circuit Sword Lite' image, which is in a different repo)?

Could you also remove the CM3, and clean the CM3 connector itself and re-insert fully?

If no joy for any of that we'll sort out a return, I see the email you have sent so I'll wait for your confirmation and then we'll go from there :)
Thanks, Kite. I've definitely been using the Circuit Sword (not "lite") images, I even tried one of the older versions on a whim yesterday, but still no luck.

Just now cleaned the CM3 and re-inserted. Still nothing. The "PGOOD" indicator LED hasn't been coming on at all, does that stand for "Pi Good"? Or would this also not light up if there was an SD card issue?

Again, thank you for all your help!

User avatar
kite
Posts: 838
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 221 times
Been thanked: 281 times
Contact:

Re: Having trouble with set up/first boot

Post by kite » Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:21 am

Cool, sounds like a hardware fault, I've replied to your email for a return request :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests