Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
User avatar
FlashyFrank
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by FlashyFrank » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:45 pm

I have been collecting all the parts i need to build my second Circuit Sword and I was originally planning on putting in a 640x480 LCD screen. It took me a long time to find a retailer that sold the screens at an "affordable" price. Took weeks of emails with the Chinese seller and the price kept getting higher and higher with every quote. Eventually I did purchase one and I have finally gotten all the other parts I need to complete my build but I am having second thoughts. I am not finding much, if any, info on how to modify the case to fit the screen. Also I thought I remember reading somewhere that the extra resolution you get from the screen only comes through while in the menus of RetroArch and does not effect game resolution.

Does anyone have experience adding the 640x480 screen and is it worth the time and effort? Any helpful links or information? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

*EDIT* found this, https://github.com/winder/Circuit-Sword ... -LCD-Guide but it really only talks about modifying the screen and not the case. Also it mentions, "Software doesn't actually run higher than 320x240, only menus would be clearer"

So once again is it worth it?

User avatar
tinkerBOY
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 4:00 am
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by tinkerBOY » Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:07 am

Yes it's totally worth it. Especially the newer 640x480 lcd that is similar with dimensions with the usual 320x240 lcd.
New! tinkerBOY PowerSwitch v1.0 with Safe Shutdown
Game Boy Zero Controllers available @ tinkerBOY.xyz * Support
tinkerBOY Controller v3.0 - built-in usb controller, usb audio, and usb hub
tinkerBOY Controller v2.0 - GPIO buttons and builtin PWM Audio and Amplifier
tinkerBOY Controller v1.1 - simple pcb button
* DPI Adapter - better display for GBZ
* keyboard converters - IBM XT/AT Soarer's Converter | ADB to USB Converter

User avatar
FlashyFrank
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by FlashyFrank » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:18 am

The screen I have is not similar dimensions. It is obviously much wider and would require some modifications to the shell or screen in order to fit. I spent close to $100 on the screen with shipping and fees and I don't really want to get a new one. Can you explain why it's worth it? The normal screen in my first Circuit Sword looks fine to me.

User avatar
tinkerBOY
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 4:00 am
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by tinkerBOY » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:31 am

The 320x240 is fine but the 640x480 lcd is much better in terms of clarity and sharpness. Obviously is a much more high res lcd than the former. I think it’s going to be the standard when the price gets low and I’m sure it will eventually get low.
New! tinkerBOY PowerSwitch v1.0 with Safe Shutdown
Game Boy Zero Controllers available @ tinkerBOY.xyz * Support
tinkerBOY Controller v3.0 - built-in usb controller, usb audio, and usb hub
tinkerBOY Controller v2.0 - GPIO buttons and builtin PWM Audio and Amplifier
tinkerBOY Controller v1.1 - simple pcb button
* DPI Adapter - better display for GBZ
* keyboard converters - IBM XT/AT Soarer's Converter | ADB to USB Converter

User avatar
FlashyFrank
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by FlashyFrank » Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:50 am

Ok, any tips on how to make case modifications? Should I just grind down the inside of the case?

User avatar
gambino37
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:17 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by gambino37 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:45 am

If you do not have the "newer" version of the screen, its not worth it at all. I attempted to get one to fit and it was a no-go. That old screen is huge and offset to one direction. You will be grinding and grinding for days to get it even close to centered. Mine was a ninety dollar waste of money and time.

User avatar
FlashyFrank
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:22 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by FlashyFrank » Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:08 pm

gambino37 wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:45 am
If you do not have the "newer" version of the screen, its not worth it at all. I attempted to get one to fit and it was a no-go. That old screen is huge and offset to one direction. You will be grinding and grinding for days to get it even close to centered. Mine was a ninety dollar waste of money and time.
Ok, this is sort of the answer I was looking for. :( I have a lot of extra shells lying around so maybe I'll attempt to grind one down to see if I can make it work but I'm thinking I'll just go with the standard screen.

User avatar
gambino37
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:17 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Kite Circuit Sword 640x480 LCD?

Post by gambino37 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:19 pm

That's what I did. Made me sick.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest