GPIO works in menu but not games

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Golddeenoh
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:29 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 time

GPIO works in menu but not games

Post by Golddeenoh » Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:55 pm

I have been fighting this for days, nothing i have found tells me how to resolve it. i can move and control retropie in the game menu, reconfigure my buttons to be sure it reads them, it does, and yet i go into the game and have to use a keybaord to get the game to play/exit. i did a fresh install, redid all of the controls and had the same result.

retrogame install instructions used:
moosepr wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:23 pm
i normally install it manually.

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-Retrogame

cd Adafruit-Retrogame

make

sudo make install
then you need to create a file to make retrogame in the actual games

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/10-retrogame.rules
then inside nano you need to paste

Code: Select all

SUBSYSTEM=="input", ATTRS{name}=="retrogame", ENV{ID_INPUT_KEYBOARD}="1"
press ctrl + o to save, then ctrl + x to close

you will then need to make it run at startup, so add it into /etc/rc.local
plus putting a copy of the retrogame.cfg file in the /boot.

I have attempted the following guides to resolve it to no prevail. what piece of data am i missing to make the games work with this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AhkEnDdygbQ
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... hp?t=83579
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 92#p589292
https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/729 ... n-games/15
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... hp?t=83579
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liJKFUZX4PM

User avatar
moosepr
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:18 am
Has thanked: 69 times
Been thanked: 241 times
Contact:

Re: GPIO works in menu but not games

Post by moosepr » Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:08 am

I had a major head scratching moment with the same thing. Try manually typing the code within the /etc/udev/rules.d/10-retrogame.rules file, i had issues with copy and paste actually putting the wrong characters in. It was the double quotes that got me, they looked like double quotes, but when i typed a new one next to it, it looked different.
Get a small cheep LCD in your project https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=2312
Wrap it all round a battery https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2292
Or use a custom PCB to make it really small https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2512
or make it really really really really tiny!! https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2919

Golddeenoh
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:29 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GPIO works in menu but not games

Post by Golddeenoh » Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:40 am

that was the issue, i had manually typed it in the first time and it seemed correct.

I had to copy the text into a plain text document, remove .txt, then drop it in BIOS on the retropie, then i used the file manager to move it the correct file and delete the old version. Probably the hard way but it worked.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest