Is there a set up script I can use?

Post Reply
User avatar
Robochris
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Ohio
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by Robochris » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:50 pm

Idk why but my sftp client, cyberduck, doesnt like this build for some reason.. Transfers are insanely slow and I get constant connection errors.
It took a bit of tweaking to get running.
samba was completely removed, I had to manually expand the file system, and now I have super slow and inconsistent rom transfers.
Is anyone else having similar issues?

Can I just set up a vanilla retropie img then install a setup script for the pocketpi fe?

Heedermann
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 9:01 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by Heedermann » Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:40 am

Maybe the MintyPi image would work?
http://www.mediafire.com/file/bc66b24cv ... v3.gz/file

I would test it myself, but I don't have received my PocketPi FE yet.
Could you post some pics of yours?

User avatar
KonnorJ
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:23 am
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by KonnorJ » Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:29 am

try using filezilla instead

User avatar
AntFJ
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:09 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by AntFJ » Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:35 pm

Robochris wrote:
Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:50 pm
Idk why but my sftp client, cyberduck, doesnt like this build for some reason.. Transfers are insanely slow and I get constant connection errors.
It took a bit of tweaking to get running.
samba was completely removed, I had to manually expand the file system, and now I have super slow and inconsistent rom transfers.
Is anyone else having similar issues?

Can I just set up a vanilla retropie img then install a setup script for the pocketpi fe?
You're not alone - I passed a bunch of feedback to Bluup including the fact that samba was completely missing. He is working on an updated image... not sure when it will be released. I've never had a pi zero to compare to since my first build was a circuit sword CM3... but holy cow is this thing slow. I can't play GBA or SNES - games are too choppy and the sound is too laggy for me. I chalked up any performance issues with the fact that it is a zero. I've got a Pi 3 A+ I'm going to try to fit into my next Pocket FE build. Hopefully that will will make everything playable.

User avatar
Robochris
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Ohio
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by Robochris » Tue Apr 23, 2019 4:06 pm

Think an A+ would fit? I may make that work.

User avatar
AntFJ
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:09 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by AntFJ » Tue Apr 23, 2019 4:24 pm

Robochris wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 4:06 pm
Think an A+ would fit? I may make that work.
With some extra cutting and a ribbon cable connecting all the pins - I do think it'll fit. A+ is in the mail. I'll let you know in a week or so

User avatar
KonnorJ
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:23 am
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by KonnorJ » Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:09 pm

Samba is removed as it's unnecessary and slows things down

User avatar
Robochris
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Ohio
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by Robochris » Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:37 pm

How are you transferring roms without samba then?

User avatar
KonnorJ
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:23 am
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by KonnorJ » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:40 am

Robochris wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 3:37 pm
How are you transferring roms without samba then?
FTP

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Is there a set up script I can use?

Post by ekilla » Tue May 07, 2019 9:53 am

I used WinSCP yesterday. Wasn´t slower as expected and did not loose the connection. Worked well.
But I tried Samba at first too. Tried several things until I moved to SFTP.
There should be an information somewhere that Samba is removed. Keeps things more easy and people from triying and searching arround.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests