No Audio too - PocketPI FE

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 50 times

No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by ekilla » Fri May 10, 2019 10:31 am

Hi I think I should open my own thread for that.

I still have no Audio and can´t find the Problem. I bought a kit on which everything was pre soldered.
I reflashed the image sevaral times, downloaded it several times and reflasht it, doesn´t matter, no sound.
I´ve checked every setting, I think that´s all like it should be.

I even soldered the board to make sure it´s properly connected. Nothing helps.
No audio on both speaker and headphone.

Since I bought another kit from a user here I have something to compare.
(I can´t use the second kit for now since it has a PI soldered on wich looked like it only was bridged on some pins. While desoldering it I saw it wasn´t only shorted pins, the PIs PCB was completely messed up too, some traces are destroyed so I think it´s dead. I need some sort of heat gun at first to get it off.)
But anyways, this second kit is one of those that Galaxy Gaming soldered himself, mine was one of the ones that where factory soldered.

The chip I assume is the audio chip, looks different on both. The one that GG soldered himself has some sort of switch on it that mine doesn´t have.
I don´t know if this maybe is the reason for my missing audio. I don´t think so, I think it maybe should look that way, but maybe someone could bring some light into it. And could tell me if I´m right and if that´s the amp or soundcard or so.

I really don´t know what to do and how to get audio.

soldered from factory and additionally soldered by me:
SpoilerShow
factory.jpg
factory.jpg (85.3 KiB) Viewed 691 times
soldered by GG:
SpoilerShow
MadeByGG.jpg
MadeByGG.jpg (65.62 KiB) Viewed 691 times
I even checked if the pi is soldered properly with an DSLR wth macro lens, looks fine to me.


I´m clueless.


PS and I still don´t get why I have no shoulder buttons and even why the retropie doesn´t even recognize a button press if I bridge the two solder point on the main PCB itself. This should be a button press in any case.


@GalaxyGaming
@Bluup
@KonnorJ


I appricaite any help on these issues.

User avatar
HoolyHoo
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 723 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by HoolyHoo » Fri May 10, 2019 10:48 am

That soldered on pcb is for the safe shutdown not audio. Audio comes from the very tiny ic near the lower right of the board.

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by ekilla » Fri May 10, 2019 10:55 am

HoolyHoo wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 10:48 am
That soldered on pcb is for the safe shutdown not audio. Audio comes from the very tiny ic near the lower right of the board.
Thank you HoolyHoo. Than it makes sense soldering it didn´t help with my Audio... :D

I think you are talking about this one?
2019-05-10_185635.jpg
2019-05-10_185635.jpg (209.83 KiB) Viewed 678 times

User avatar
HoolyHoo
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 723 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by HoolyHoo » Fri May 10, 2019 11:01 am

Yes, that’s it. It’s a delicate qfn package so perhaps it needs to be reflowed although it does look fine in your photo.

User avatar
Robochris
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Ohio
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by Robochris » Fri May 10, 2019 6:24 pm

ekilla wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 10:31 am

PS and I still don´t get why I have no shoulder buttons and even why the retropie doesn´t even recognize a button press if I bridge the two solder point on the main PCB itself. This should be a button press in any case.
Are not getting any button presses? or just not L/R? I would check your soldering on the gpio pins and try to follow the traces if you can to check continuity. That's what I had to do a few times.

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by ekilla » Sat May 11, 2019 10:30 am

Robochris wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 6:24 pm
Are not getting any button presses? or just not L/R? I would check your soldering on the gpio pins and try to follow the traces if you can to check continuity. That's what I had to do a few times.
Only L&R. All others are working just fine.
For me the GPIO pins are looking good, but I'll reflow them one more time just to be sure.

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by ekilla » Sat May 11, 2019 10:34 am

HoolyHoo wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 11:01 am
Yes, that’s it. It’s a delicate qfn package so perhaps it needs to be reflowed although it does look fine in your photo.
That's really tiny... I have not much experience with things that tiny.
I would do a little flux to the pins, put a little bit of solder to the solder tip (the really tiny one) and go from one side to another in a movement. Or should I better try to do on Pin after another?

User avatar
HoolyHoo
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 723 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by HoolyHoo » Sat May 11, 2019 11:22 am

ekilla wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 10:34 am
HoolyHoo wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 11:01 am
Yes, that’s it. It’s a delicate qfn package so perhaps it needs to be reflowed although it does look fine in your photo.
That's really tiny... I have not much experience with things that tiny.
I would do a little flux to the pins, put a little bit of solder to the solder tip (the really tiny one) and go from one side to another in a movement. Or should I better try to do on Pin after another?
Your best bet is flux and hot air. I personally wouldn’t try it with an iron even with a fine tip although I suppose it’s possible if your good at it.

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by ekilla » Sat May 11, 2019 11:56 am

HoolyHoo wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 11:22 am
Your best bet is flux and hot air. I personally wouldn’t try it with an iron even with a fine tip although I suppose it’s possible if your good at it.
I think you´re right, I shouldn´t try that. I have nothing for hot air yet and even my very very tiny tip is looking huge compared to the solder points...
And of course, I´m not good at it. I have never soldered something this tiny.
2019-05-11_195453.jpg
2019-05-11_195453.jpg (393.02 KiB) Viewed 649 times

User avatar
ekilla
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:04 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: No Audio too - PocketPI FE

Post by ekilla » Sat May 11, 2019 12:07 pm

ekilla wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 10:30 am
Robochris wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 6:24 pm
Are not getting any button presses? or just not L/R? I would check your soldering on the gpio pins and try to follow the traces if you can to check continuity. That's what I had to do a few times.
Only L&R. All others are working just fine.
For me the GPIO pins are looking good, but I'll reflow them one more time just to be sure.
Checked the GPIO pins, I have continuity to the solder points on the back button board. Reflowed them anyways.
Without L or R pressed I have about 20 Mega Ohm betweeen GPIO ground (Pin 39) and the GPIO PINS for the L&R buttons (PIN 36 & 38).
If I press it I get some Kilo Ohm between ground and the pin of the button I press.


I just checked were I have continuity and found pin 36 & 38.
But If I check the keys.cfg in the one-for-all folder it says L = 16 & R = 20

Code: Select all

[GENERAL]
SHUTDOWN_DETECT = 27

[KEYS]
LEFT = 26
RIGHT = 13
DOWN = 6
UP = 12
BUTTON_A = 5
BUTTON_B = 7
BUTTON_X = 4
BUTTON_Y = 17
BUTTON_L1 = 16
BUTTON_R1 = 20
SELECT = 22
START = 15
HOTKEY = 22

[JOYSTICK]
ON_BY_DEFAULT=False
DISABLED=True
DEADZONE=300
VCC=1600

[BATTERY]
ENABLED=True
FULL_BATT_VOLTAGE=373
BATT_LOW_VOLTAGE=340
BATT_SHUTDOWN_VOLT=328

Edit:
Oh ok I see Pin 36 & 38 are GPIO 16 & 20
SpoilerShow
2019-05-11_201750.jpg
2019-05-11_201750.jpg (91.97 KiB) Viewed 636 times

EDIT 2:

Oh come on... I just recognized if I push a back button while I did nothing for some time and the screens brightness went lower, the screen comes back. So it recognizes the button.
But it´s still not working ingame on GBA and does nothing while I´m in a huge gameslist like I have on Gameboy. Shouldn´t it flip pages there?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests